Tradition of Excellence

The University of Iowa is home to one of the nation’s most successful college basketball programs. Iowa Basketball boasts some impressive numbers.


The Iowa Basketball program has been well represented in the NBA championship over the years. In fact, former Hawkeyes have won 13 world championships while in the NBA. That list includes Don Nelson, Fred Brown, John Johnson, B.J. Armstrong, Bob Hansen, and Matt Bullard. From point guards to the big guys in the middle, Iowa basketball continues to prepare its student-athletes for an opportunity to compete in the NBA and professional basketball leagues around the world.

The Iowa Basketball Program has had 53 former players selected in the NBA Draft since 1947.

More than 10 former Hawkeye players are currently active in professional basketball leagues in foreign countries and as many as 45 former University of Iowa players have played overseas over the last 25 years.


The Iowa Basketball program has had 23 All-Americans, including three consensus All-Americans the last six seasons.

Jarrod Uthoff earned consensus second-team laurels in 2016. He also was the National Academic All-American of the Year, becoming the first Hawkeye to earn consensus All-America distinction both on the court and in the classroom.

Luka Garza had back-to-back historic seasons leading the nationally-ranked Hawkeyes in 2020 and 2021. The most decorated player in program history was a two-time Big Ten and National Player of the Year, unanimous consensus first-team All-American, Pete Newell Big Man of the Year, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year, and USBWA District VI Player of the Year honoree. The native of Washington, D.C. became the program’s first consensus National Player of the Year in 2021, winning all of the major awards: Wooden, Naismith, Oscar Robertson, Lute Olson, Associated Press, NABC, and Sporting News. Garza broke Iowa’s single-season scoring record in 2020 and 2021, and set the all-time scoring benchmark at 2,306 points. His No. 55 will be retired from the University of Iowa men’s basketball program.

Other consensus All-Americans include Murray Wier (first-team), Chuck Darling (first-team), Herb Wilkinson (second-team), and Dick Ives (second-team).


University of Iowa men’s basketball student-athletes have earned all-conference recognition 123 times, including 36 first-team honorees, 45 second-team, and 42 third-team. Fran McCaffery has coached first-team All-Big Ten honorees six of the last eight seasons (Luka Garza, 2020 & 2021; Peter Jok, 2017; Jarrod Uthoff, 2016; Aaron White, 2015; Devyn Marble 2014), the most over an eight-year span since 1955-62.