Hawkeyes to compete in Boilermaker Invitational

THIS WEEK — The Iowa men’s golf team will travel to West Lafayette, IN, this weekend to compete in the 18-team Boilermaker Invitational. The tournament will be held at the par-72 Kampen Golf Course. The first two rounds will be played on Saturday with competition beginning with a shotgun start at 7 a.m. The tournament will conclude on Sunday with 18 holes of play beginning at 7 a.m. The 18-team field features the most competitive field the Hawkeyes have faced all season. Their are six teams ranked in the top 25, along with 14 in the top 50. The tournament will also gear the Hawkeyes for the upcoming Big Ten Championships, with eight conference teams in the field.

LAST WEEK — Last time out the Hawkeyes finished seventh at the Pepsi-Cola Invitational. Cade Pleggenkuhle led the way for the Hawkeyes, finishing tied for 10th with a three round 229. Todd Larson and Erik Feldick tied for 25th with a total of 234.

THIS WEEK’S ROSTER — Competiting for the Hawkeyes this weekend are freshmen Robby Storm and Todd Larson, sophomore Andy Tiedt and seniors Erik Feldick and Cade Pleggenkuhle.

LEADING THE HAWKEYES — Senior Cade Pleggenkuhle is leading the Hawkeyes thus far this spring. The native of Clear Lake is leading the team in stroke average (75.3), low round (72) and rounds played (6). Pleggenkuhle is coming off his best performance of the spring with a tie for 10th in the Pepsi-Cola Invitational.

QUOTING COACH ANDERSON — “This tournament is a great oppurtunity for our team to compete against some outstanding competition. It features some of the best players and teams in the nation. This competition should set a benchmark of where we need to improve areas of our games. Overall this should be a great competitive experience for us.”

COACH Terry Anderson — Anderson is in his 11th year as Iowa’s head coach. Anderson lettered four times in golf at Iowa State. He also serves as the Director of Golf at Iowa’s Finkbine Golf Course. The Iowa Golf Association named him 1998 PGA Professional of the Year.

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader