Six Hawkeyes Picked For All-Star Games

Nov. 30, 2004

Six senior members of Iowa’s Big Ten championship football team have been selected to participate in post-season all-star games. All six played important roles in Iowa’s 9-2 record and its invitation to the New Year’s Day Capital One Bowl in Orlando, FL.

Defensive end Matt Roth, defensive tackle Jonathan Babineaux and free safety Sean Considine were picked to play in the Senior Bowl. That game will be played in Mobile, AL, on January 29th. Roth and Babineaux were both first-team all-Big Ten selections. Considine made the honorable mention all-league team.

Named to play in the Jan. 15th East-West Shrine Game, in Montgomery, AL, are defensive end Derreck Robinson and offensive tackle Pete McMahon. McMahon was named to the all-Big Ten honorable mention team.

Tight end Tony Jackson will play in the Jan. 22nd Hula Bowl in Maui. Jackson was also an honorable mention all-Big Ten pick.

More Iowa seniors will probably be added to all-star rosters in the coming weeks.