Big Ten Pre-Seeds Announced

Feb. 28, 2005

The preliminary seeds for the 2005 Big Ten Conference Wrestling Championship were announced today by Conference officials. The pre-seeds are determined by a vote amongst the League’s head wrestling coaches after consideration of regular-season results.

Two of Coach Jim Zalesky’s Iowa Hawkeyes – Ty Eustice at 149 pounds and Mark Perry at 165 pounds – were slotted in the No. 2 position. Four other Hawkeyes including Joe Johnston who was tabbed the No. 3 seed at 157 were included in the top eight.

The 2005 Big Ten Wrestling Championships will take place on Saturday, March 5, and Sunday, March 6, at Carver Hawkeye Arena on the campus of the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa. The Championships bracket will be set on Friday, March 4.

Tickets remain available for the 2005 Big Ten Conference Wrestling Championship, Saturday and Sunday at Carver-Hawkeye. To purcahse yours call 1-800 IA-HAWKS.

Illinois and Michigan lead all schools with four top pre-seeds apiece. Kyle Ott (125 lbs.), Mark Jayne (133 lbs.), Pete Friedl (174 lbs.) and Brian Glynn (184 lbs.) all received top seeds for the Fighting Illini.

For the Wolverines, Josh Churella (141 lbs.), Eric Tannenbaum (149 lbs.), Ryan Bertin (157 lbs.) and Ryan Churella (165 lbs.) each earned the top spots in their respective divisions. Illinois’ Jayne is the defending Big Ten champion at 133 lbs., as is Michigan’s Churella at 149 lbs.

Minnesota and Ohio State each boast a No. 1 preliminary seed entering the Championships. J.D. Bergman of Ohio State will wrestle as the top seed at 197 lbs., while Minnesota’s Cole Konrad will battle as the premier grappler in the heavyweight division.

Konrad placed third at Big Tens last year and carries a 31-2 record, including an 8-0 record in Big Ten dual action, into the Championships this weekend.

Less than one week remains until all 11 league schools will take to the mats for the 2005 Big Ten Wrestling Championships. Iowa will look to defend its Big Ten title, which they won last season at Ohio State. The Hawkeyes (129.5) bested runner-up Minnesota (124.5) by five points, while Illinois (98.5), Michigan (96.0) and Penn State (90.0) rounded out the top five.

For the second consecutive year, Illinois and Michigan will enter the Big Ten Championships as the league’s dual meet co-champions. The Fighting Illini and Wolverines each ended the 2005 campaign with 7-0-1 records. Then-No.5 Michigan tied No. 2 Illinois, 17-17, on February 6 in Ann Arbor, Mich.

Tickets may be purchased by contacting the University of Iowa Athletic Ticket Office at 1-800-424-2957 or online at


125 lbs.
1. Kyle Ott, Illinois
2. Nick Simmons, Michigan State
3. Joe Dubuque, Indiana
4. John Velez, Northwestern
5. Bobbe Lowe, Minnesota
6. Adam Smith, Penn State
7. Brandon Tucker, Purdue
8. Charlie Falck, Iowa

133 lbs.
1. Mark Jayne, Illinois
2. Mack Reiter, Minnesota
3. Tom Clum, Wisconsin
4. Mario Galanakis, Iowa
5. T.J. Enright, Ohio State
6. Mark Moos, Michigan
7. Bryan Heller, Penn State
8. Brian Dyer, Indiana

141 lbs.
1. Josh Churella, Michigan
2. Andy Simmons, Michigan State
3. Cassio Pero, Illinois
4. Mike Simpson, Indiana
5. Alex Tsirtsis, Iowa
6. Ryan Lang, Northwestern
7. DeWitt Driscoll, Penn State
8. Ed Gutnik, Wisconsin

149 lbs.
1. Eric Tannenbaum, Michigan
T2. Ty Eustice, Iowa
T2. Doug Withstandley, Purdue
4. Anton Dietzen, Illinois
5. Darren McKnight, Michigan State
6. Craig Henning, Wisconsin
7. Steven Wolery, Ohio State
8. Jack Decker, Penn State

157 lbs.
1. Ryan Bertin, Michigan
2. Alex Tirapelle, Illinois
3. Joe Johnston, Iowa
4. Nathan Galloway, Penn State
5. Brandon Becker, Indiana
6. Tyler Turner, Wisconsin
7. C.P. Schlatter, Minnesota
8. Mike Kimberlin, Northwestern

165 lbs.
1. Ryan Churella, Michigan
2. Mark Perry, Iowa
3. Matt Nagel, Minnesota
4. Jake Donar, Wisconsin
5. Donny Reynolds, Illinois
6. Max Dean, Indiana
7. Nick Hayes, Northwestern
8. John DeCeault, Purdue

174 lbs.
1. Pete Friedl, Illinois
2. Jake Herbert, Northwestern
3. R.J. Boudro, Michigan State
4. Nick Roy, Michigan
5. Brady Richardson, Indiana
T6. Gabriel Dretsch, Minnesota
T6. Kelly Flaherty, Wisconsin
8. James Yonushonis, Penn State

184 lbs.
1. Brian Glynn, Illinois
2. Eric Bradley, Penn State
3. Brady Reinke, Wisconsin
4. Ben Wissel, Purdue
5. Paul Bradley, Iowa
T6. Roger Kish, Minnesota
T6. Mike Tamillow, Northwestern
8. Andy Rios, Indiana

197 lbs.
1. J.D. Bergman, Ohio State
2. Nathan Moore, Purdue
3. Matt Delguyd, Northwestern
4. Phillip Davis, Penn State
5. Tyrone Byrd, Illinois
6. Willie Breyer, Michigan
7. Ryan Flaherty, Wisconsin
8. Matt Koz, Minnesota

1. Cole Konrad, Minnesota
2. Greg Wagner, Michigan
3. Pat DeGain, Indiana
4. Dustin Fox, Northwestern
5. Matt Fields, Iowa
6. Kirk Nail, Ohio State
7. Mike Behnke, Illinois
8. Joel Edwards, Penn State