Hawkeyes At NCAA Qualifier

March 1, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

THIS WEEK — Six Hawkeyes will compete at the Last Chance Qualifying Meet Saturday in Ames, IA. Seniors Zach Digney, Derrick Burks, Andy Banse and Chris Voller, junior Adam Hamilton and sophomore Shane Maier will have one last chance to qualify for next week’s NCAA Indoor Championships. All events will be held at the Lied Recreation Athletic Center on the Iowa State University campus. Field events are scheduled to start at 9:30 a.m., with running events at 10:30.

LAST WEEK — Iowa placed 10th at the Big Ten Indoor Championships in West Lafayette, IN, earning 22 points. Wisconsin won it’s third consecutive team title, and it’s fourth in five seasons, with 144.5. Iowa scored seven top-eight performances. Junior Adam Hamilton led the team with a third-place finish in the weight throw (64-11 1/4), while seniors Ken Kemeny and Andy Banse and junior Shane Maier placed fourth, fifth and seventh, respectively, in the shot put. Kemeny improved his previous NCAA provisional qualifying mark with a throw of 58-11 1/2. Senior Zach Digney placed sixth in the 200 meters (21.80), and freshman Matty Gorman placed eighth in the triple jump (47-10 1/2). Redshirt freshman Ryan Niver set a school record in the heptathlon, placing eighth with 4,930 points.

HEAD COACH Larry Wieczorek — Head Coach Larry Wiezcorek and is in his ninth seasons at the helm of the Iowa men’s track team. During his career at Iowa, Wieczorek has coached 23 all-Americans and 35 Big Ten Champions. Iowa’s highest conference meet finishes during his tenure is second at the 1999 outdoor meet and fourth at the 1997 indoor meet. As a runner, Wieczorek was a six-time Big Ten champion for Iowa, winning four track and two cross country titles. He was also a four-time all-American. In 1998, Wieczorek was inducted into the National Iowa Varsity Club Hall of Fame.

NEXT COMPETITION — Qualifying student-athletes will compete at the NCAA Indoor Championships, March 11-12 in Fayetteville, AR.