Fry Honored Again

July 26, 2005

HOUSTON, TX – Former Iowa Football Coach Hayden Fry, who also coached at North Texas and SMU in a College Football Hall of Fame coaching career, will be honored August 17th at the JW Marriott in Houston as the Touchdown Club of Houston’s Touchdowner of the Year.

The award is given annually, since 1966, for extraordinary contributions and outstanding achievements reflecting honor and sportsmanship to football over a lengthy period of time. Past winners include Grant Teaff, Bobby Dodd, Darrell Royal, Doak Walker, Tom Landry, R.C. Slocum, Bear Bryant, Eddie Robinson, Earl Campbell, Bud Adams, John David Crow, Elvin Bethea and Spike Dykes.

Among those speaking on Fry’s behalf include Jerry LeVias, whom Fry made the first black football player in Southwest Conference history at SMU.Tickets are $40 each, and a table (10 seats) is $400. Premium seating is $500 (bronze table sponsorship), $1,000 (silver table sponsorship), $1,500 (gold table sponsorship) or $5,000 (platinum sponsorship).

Tickets can be purchased by e-mailing, or by calling the TD Club’s hotline at 281-754-4867.