Rowers Have Success At Head Of Des Moines

Sept. 24, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

DES MOINES, IA–Winning three events and placing second in four, the University of Iowa rowing team had a strong season opener at the Head of Des Moines Regatta in Des Moines.

In the junior women’s single, Laura Kanaris finished in first place with a time of 21:06. Kat Davy-Traynor finished second with a time of 22:28. Kristin Kelly finished in fourth place with a time of 25:36.

In the women’s novice single Ashley Gustafson finished in second place with a time of 26:02. Lydia McGee took third place with a time of 26:19. Jessie McBride finished fourth with a time of 29:55.

In the women’s open single, Liz Bauer took fifth place with a time of 25:04. Megan Conner finished sixth with a time of 25:29.

In the women’s open pair, Iowa had a strong showing with boats finishing first, second and third. In first place, Kat Davy-Traynor and Lydia McGee had a time of 21:04. In second place, Elizabeth Bauer and Carolyn O’Meara had a time of 22:08. In third place, Sophie Nielsen and Ashley Gustafson had a time of 22:11.

In the women’s open four, the Iowa team of Lori Rehel, Carolyn O’Meara, Sophie Nielsen, Kristin Kelly and Laura Kanaris finished second.

In the women’s varsity eight, with a time of 17:36, an Iowa boat finished first for the eighth year in a row. Iowa also had a boat finish third with a time of 18:06.

The Hawkeyes will compete again on Sunday, October 9 at the Head of the Rock in Rockford, IL.

Junior Women’s Single
1. Iowa (Kanaris) 21:06
2. Iowa (Davy-Traynor) 22:28
3. Quad Cities
4. Iowa (Kelly) 25:36

Women’s Open Pair
1. Iowa (Davy-Traynor, McGee) 21:04
2. Iowa (Bauer, O’Meara) 22:08
3. Iowa (Nielsen, Gustafson) 22:11

Women’s Novice Single
1. Drake
2. Iowa (Gustafson) 26:02
3. Iowa (McGee) 26:19
4. Iowa (McBride) 29:55

Women’s Open Four
1. Minnesota Boat Club
2. Iowa

Women’s Open Single
5. Iowa (Bauer) 25:04
6. Iowa (Conner) 25:29

Women’s Varsity Eight
1. Iowa 17:36
2. Minneapolis Rowing Club
3. Iowa 18:06

Women’s Varsity Eight
5. Iowa (Bauer) 25:04
6. Iowa (Conner) 25:29