Hawkeyes Earn Big Ten Honors

Nov. 22, 2005

IOWA CITY, IA – Three University of Iowa football players have been named to the 2005 first all-Big Ten teams. The teams selected by the league coaches and a panel of media voters were announced today.

Senior linebacker Chad Greenway was named to the first unit by both the media and coaches. Also named to the first unit by the media were sophomore defensive end Kenny Iwebema and senior defensive back Jovon Johnson.

Named to the media’s second team were sophomore running back Albert Young, senior linebacker Abdul Hodge and kicker Kyle Schlicher. Second team selections by the coaches included Schlicher, Hodge and Johnson.

Honorable mention picks by the media included senior defensive back Antwan Allen, center Brian Ferentz, senior wide receiver Ed Hinkel and freshman defensive tackle Mitch King. Coaches’ honorable mention Hawkeyes are Allen, Hinkel, Young, Iwebema and junior defensive back Marcus Paschal.

Penn State’s Joe Paterno was named Coach of the Year.