Hawkeyes Sweep Indiana State

Feb. 2, 2007

IOWA CITY – The University of Iowa men’s tennis team defeated Indiana State, 7-0, Friday afternoon at the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Complex. The Hawkeyes never lost a set or match.

Iowa started competition with three wins in doubles play. Juniors Bart van Monsjou and J.P. Ritchie teamed to defeat Tsymbalov and Behl (8-5) in the No. 1 doubles match. Sophomores Greg Holm and Christian Bierich recorded a win for the Hawkeyes in the No. 2 match by defeating Echer and Wenham (8-2). In the final doubles match, the freshman duo of Tommy McGeorge and Patrick Dwyer took down Migogo and Sigurdsson (8-2).

In singles competition, Iowa posted six straight wins. In the No. 1 position, van Monsjou defeated Tsymbalov (6-3, 6-1). Bierich was victorious over Behl in the No. 2 match (6-2, 6-4). In the No. 3 match, Ritchie defeated Migogo (6-0, 7-5). The Hawkeyes continued their winning streak at the No. 4 position as McGeorge took down Sigurdsson (5-0, ret.). In the No. 5 match, Holm defeated Echer (6-2, 6-4). Dwyer rounded out Iowa’s line up at the No. 6 spot. He defeated Wenham (6-1, 6-1).

“I am really pleased with the win,” said Head Coach Steve Houghton. “The team played great. Not only did we win all matches, but we won every set also. It was a great effort overall.”

With this win, the Hawkeyes move to 2-0. They will return to action February 16 when they host DePaul. Competition will begin at 3 p.m. in the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Complex.

Iowa 7 Indiana State 0

No. 1 Bart van Monsjou (Iowa) def. Anton Tsymbalov (Indiana St.) 6-3, 6-1
No. 2 Christian Bierich (Iowa) def. Rishi Behl (Indiana St.) 6-2, 6-4
No. 3 J.P. Ritchie (Iowa) def. Mpiloenhle Migogo (Indiana St.) 6-0, 7-5
No. 4 Tommy McGeorge (Iowa) def. Jon Sigurdsson (Indiana St.) 5-0, ret.
No. 5 Gregory Holm (Iowa) def. Bruno Echer (Indiana St.) 6-2, 6-4
No. 6 Patrick Dwyer (Iowa) def. Michael Wenham (Indiana St.) 6-1, 6-1

No. 1 van Monsjou/Ritchie (Iowa) def. Tsymbalov/Behl (Indiana St.) 8-5
No. 2 Holm/Bierich (Iowa) def. Echer/Wenham (Indiana St.) 8-2
No. 3 McGeorge/Dwyer (Iowa) def. Migogo/Sigurdsson (Indiana St.) 8-2