No. 26 Hawkeyes Host No. 8 Sooners, Sunday

Feb. 12, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

This Week

The University of Iowa women’s gymnastics team will host Oklahoma, Sunday at 2 p.m. Competition will take place at the UI Fieldhouse. Oklahoma is currently ranked eighth with a 195.540 average. 26th-ranked Iowa posts an average of 193.342.

Last Competition

The Hawkeyes traveled to Alaska-Anchorage last week and competed against the Seawolves twice. Iowa defeated UAA 192.125-189.675 Friday, posting three event winners. Iowa won 193.725-188.475, Sunday, taking the top spot in all events and the all-around. Top performers for Iowa included freshman Katie Turcotte, who matched her career high 9.9 on vault, and Jenny Donar, who also earned a 9.9 on vault to match the team high. Sophomore Jen Simbhudas recorded a season personal and team high 9.9 on floor.

Iowa In Action

Iowa has posted several top scores so far this season. Freshmen Katie Turcotte and Jenny Donar, and sophomore Jen Simbhudas, have posted Iowa’s top vault score at 9.9, while junior Katie Burke holds Iowa’s top uneven bars score of 9.875, attained in the Quad Meet. Burke also posted Iowa’s top beam performance (9.825). Sophomore Jen Simbhudas holds Iowa’s top floor score of 9.9, achieved at Alaska-Anchorage, and sophomore Kara Pinjuv holds Iowa’s top all-around score at 39.175.

Head Coach Larissa Libby

Iowa Head Coach Larissa Libby is in her third season as head coach of the Hawkeyes. In her first two years, Libby recorded a 12-31 overall record. Before becoming head coach, Libby was Iowa’s associate head coach for one year and an assistant coach for three seasons. While associate head coach, Libby led the GymHawks to a school record 49.425 beam performance in 2004. In addition, in 2004 the GymHawks recorded a 49.0 or higher seven times on beam under Libby’s guidance.

Next Competition

The Hawkeyes will travel to Minnesota for a dual meet, February 24th. Competition will take place at the Sports Pavilion and is set to begin at 6 p.m.