Franklin Qualifies For Midwest Regional

San Diego, CA –

The University of Iowa women’s track team opened the 2007 outdoor season on Friday at the Aztec Track Classic in San Diego, CA. Hawkeye senior Becca Franklin posted a Midwest Regional qualifying mark in the hammer throw, while the team recorded runner-up finishes in three other events.

Franklin, who holds the school hammer throw record of 181-11, placed fourth in that event with a regional qualifying mark of 179-11. Senior Jordan Laney placed second in the open 1,500 meters (4:56.20), senior Sarah Burgett was runner-up in the open pole vault (11-4 1/4) and junior Tammilee Kerr placed second in the javelin (140-6).

Iowa advanced three sprinters into Saturday’s open event finals. Junior Megan Clarke posted the second-fastest 100-meter time of 12.40, and the third-fastest 200-meter time of 25.25. Teammates Renee White (25.31) and Kara-Aretha Graham (25.68) also qualified for the open 200-meter finals.

The Iowa women’s track team will finish competition at the Aztec Invitational in San Diego, CA, Saturday.

EVENT RESULTS (Winner Plus Iowa Placers)
100 Meters – Open – Prelims
1. Shana Watson (SDSU) 12.23
2. Megan Clarke (I) 12.40

200 Meters – Open – Prelims
1. Laiah Blue (UCSD) 24.80
3. Megan Clarke (I) 25.25
4. Renee White (I) 25.31
7. Kara-Aretha Graham (I) 25.68

1,500 Meters – Open
1. Lindsay Barajas (SDSU) 4:54.64
2. Jordan Laney (I) 4:56.20
11. Jennie Docherty (I) 5:11.92

Pole Vault – Open
1. Dana Jensen (SDSU) 11-8
2. Sarah Burgett (I) 11-4 1/4

Hammer Throw
1. Leslie Coons (Unat.) 204-10
4. Becca Franklin (I) 179-11

Javelin Throw
1. Michelle Thompson (Cuyamaca) 149-2
2. Tammilee Kerr (I) 140-6

Click HERE to learn more about the Big Ten Network.