Katt Wins Javelin

April 15, 2007


Junior Kale Katt won the javelin with a season-best throw of 197-3 at the Lee Calhoun Memorial Invitational Sunday in Macomb, IL. A total of five Hawkeye throwers competed at the meet.

Junior Shane Maier placed second in the shot put (55-0 1/4), while sophomore Mark Schaapveld placed second in the hammer (174-5) and fourth in the shot (52-2). Junior Clint Huntrods joined the team after completing spring football practice Saturday to place 13th (133-6) in the discus. Freshman Troy Naumes placed eighth in the javelin (139-0) in his collegiate debut.

The Hawkeyes will host the ninth-annual Iowa Musco Twilight Meet Saturday, April 21 at Cretzmeyer Track in Iowa City. Teams scheduled to compete at the co-ed meet are Drake, Illinois-Chicago, Marquette, Minnesota, Northern Iowa, Western Illinois and Wisconsin. Starting times are 1 p.m. for “B” section field events, 3 p.m. for field event finals and “B” section and preliminary running events, and 6 p.m. for running event finals. Admission is $3 for adults. Youth and University of Iowa students will be admitted free of charge.

Shot Put
1. Sean Delahunt, Unattached 56-5 3/4
2. Shane Maier, Iowa 55-0 1/4
4. Mark Schaapveld, Iowa 52-2

1. Will Summers, Unattached 170-9
13. Clint Huntrods, Iowa 133-6

Hammer Throw
1. Zach Wilson, Monmouth 176-10
2. Mark Schaapveld, Iowa 174-5

1. Kale Katt, Iowa 197-3
8. Troy Naumes, Iowa 139-0

Click HERE for more information about the Big Ten Network.