Hawkeyes Shine At Musco Twilight IX

April 21, 2007


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The University of Iowa men and women’s track teams hosted the ninth annual Musco Twilight track meet Saturday night at Cretzmeyer Track in Iowa City. The beautiful weather allowed eight meet records and one Iowa school record to fall during the eight-team co-ed meet. Competitors also tallied 38 regional qualifying performances.

For the women’s team, Hawkeye senior Becca Franklin smashed her own school record in the hammer throw for the fourth time this season with a winning throw of 195-0. That mark also set a meet record, leads the Big Ten and ranks third in the Midwest region. Senior Peaches Roach and juniors Meghan Armstrong and Diane Nukuri also won events and set meet records. Roach won the high jump (5-10 3/4), Armstrong won the 1,500 meters with a regional qualifying 4:21.86 and Nukuri won the 3,000 meters (9:23.91).

The Hawkeye men’s team tripled its amount of individual regional qualifiers during the meet. The team had previously qualified four student-athletes, and added eight to the list Saturday. Freshman Ray Varner qualified in the 400-meter hurdles with a career-best 51.63. Junior Kale Katt won the pole vault with a career toss of 204-0. Junior Shane Maier (57-6 ½) and sophomore A.J. Curtis (56-2) each qualified in the shot put, with sophomore John Hickey winning the event (60-1 ¼). The Hawkeye 400-meter relay of juniors Max Milder, Aaron Reed, Lee Elbert and freshman Paul Chaney, Jr., also qualified for the regional with a winning time of 40.58. Senior Adam Hamilton won the hammer throw with a season-best mark of 215-2, which leads the Big Ten and ranks second in the region.

The Hawkeyes will return to action on Thursday, April 26 at the Drake Relays held in Des Moines.

Click HERE for more information about the Big Ten Network.