Hawkeyes To Represent United States

July 9, 2007


The University of Iowa field hockey program is no stranger to national recognition and this summer has been no different. Current Hawkeyes Caitlin McCurdy and Lauren Pfeiffer have been named to the Under-21 National Team while Meghan Beamesderfer was selected as an alternate. Former Hawkeyes Barb Weinberg and Sarah Dawson were named to the U.S. National Squad. Dawson was also named to the U.S. Pan American team.

Playing on a national level will be nothing new for McCurdy. The Mountain Top, PA native was on the 2006 U-21 team that traveled to China last April. She also was a member of the 2007 High Performance Training Center (HPTC) Midwest Region team, 2006 Elite Performance Training Center (EPTC) Midwest Region team, 2005 EPTC PA/NJ team and was a member of the U.S. Canada Challenge in 2006.

In McCurdy’s two years at Iowa, she has been a two time all-Big Ten selection, including being named 2005 Big Ten Freshman of the Year. She has led the Hawkeyes in goals both years.

Pfeiffer, of Mt. Laurel, NJ, has also had a great deal of experience at the national level. She was a member of the 2005 and 2006 U-21 squad, 2007 HPTC Midwest Region team, 2006 EPTC Midwest Region team and participated in the U.S./Canada Challenge in both 2005 and 2006.

As a freshman at Iowa, Pfeiffer was named to the all-Big Ten tournament team. During her sophomore season, she was a regional all-American. Pfeiffer led the Hawkeyes to a Big Ten tournament championship by scoring five goals in three days on her way to being named Big Ten Tournament MVP. She was also named National Player of the Week by www.WomensFieldHockey.com.

Beamesderfer of Lititz, PA, will serve as an alternate to the Under-21 team. In her short career as a Hawkeye she has still managed to represent Iowa on a national stage. She was a member of the 2007 HPTC Midwest Regional team.

As a freshman, Beamesderfer was named 2006 Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Dawson and Weinberg finished their Hawkeye playing careers in 2004. During Dawson’s time at Iowa she led the Hawkeye in points and goals twice. Weinberg led the team in saves all four years at Iowa. They both were named first-team all-American during their senior campaigns.

Dawson and Weinberg have both been U.S. National Team members since 2005. They were also part of the 2007 HPTC Midwest Region team and the 2006 World Cup team.

Click HERE to learn more about the Big Ten Network.