Nukuri, Napier Win Races


Sept. 15, 2007

Complete Results | Photo Gallery

IOWA CITY — The University of Iowa cross country teams hosted the Hawkeye Invitational Saturday morning at the Ashton Cross Country Course. The women scored wins over Wichita State, Oregon State and Northern Iowa with senior Diane Nukuri winning the women’s 4,000-meter race in 13:14 and breaking both the course and school records. The men won their race against Wichita State and Northern Iowa and were led by junior Andy Napier who took first place in the men’s 8,000-meter race with a personal best 25:02.

Six Hawkeyes finished in the top 10 and 14 ran their personal best for the women’s team. Senior Meghan Armstrong placed second (13:47), followed by sophomore Jolly Burke (4th-14:03), sophomore Krista Anderson (6th-14:14), senior Jessica Schmidt (8th-14:21) and freshman Lauren Hardesty (9th-14:28).

The men’s youthful squad had nine finishers in the top 15 and had nine personal best times. Sophomore Jesse Luciano placed third (25:27), followed by sophomore Tommy Tate (5th-25:33), freshman Mark Battista (8th-25:47), redshirt freshman Bruce MacTaggart (9th-26:07), sophomore Brendan Camplin (10th-26:13), sophomore Jay Renaud (11th-26:23), freshman Sam Bailin (13th-26:35), sophomore Mike Stout (14th-26:41)

The Hawkeye men’s next meet will be September 29 at the Roy Griak Invitational or Loyola Invitational. The women’s next competition will be September 30 at the Auburn Invitational or Notre Dame Invitational.

1. Iowa 21 points
2. Wichita State 65 points
3. Oregon State 67 points
4. Northern Iowa 85 points

1. Diane Nukuri (Iowa) 13:14.20
2. Meghan Armstrong (Iowa) 13:47.97
4. Jolly Burke (Iowa) 14:03.90
6. Krista Anderson (Iowa) 14:14.84
8. Jessica Schmidt (Iowa) 14:21.88
9. Lauren Hardesty (Iowa) 14:28.05
21. Katie Ellis (Iowa) 14:48.79
22. Molly Esche (Iowa) 14:49.33
28. Amanda Hardesty (Iowa) 15:03.46
39. Rachel Hawks (Iowa) 15:36.25
41. Fionna Fallon (Iowa) 15:38.19
44. Kathryn Guess (Iowa) 15:51.59
46. Christine Kotarba (Iowa) 16:01.69
48. Sophia Ponce (Iowa) 16:19.41
50. Brittany Graham (Iowa) 16:44.94
51. Caitlin Wooldridge (Iowa) 17:05.34

1. Iowa 26 points
2. Wichita State 44 points
3. Northern Iowa 64 points

1. Andy Napier (Iowa) 25:02.20
3. Jesse Luciano (Iowa) 25:27.21
5. Tommy Tate (Iowa) 25:33.76
8. Mark Battista (Iowa) 25:47.06
9. Bruce MacTaggart (Iowa) 26:07.10
10. Brendan Camplin (Iowa) 26:13.28
11. Jay Renaud (Iowa) 26:23.20
13. Sam Bailin (Iowa) 26:35.01
14. Mike Stout (Iowa) 26:41.09
17. Robert Ingram (Iowa) 27:18.37

Complete Women’s Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Complete Men’s Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Click HERE to learn more about the Big Ten Network.