Beamesderfer and Dean Named All-Big Ten

Nov. 5, 2009

IOWA CITY, IA – – The Big Ten Conference announced today that two members of the University of Iowa field hockey team have earned all-Big Ten honors.

Seniors Meghan Beamesderfer and Tricia Dean have both been named to the first team. Beamesderfer, a unanimous selection, was also named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year. She is the sixth Hawkeye to ever win the award and first since Heather Schnepf garnered consecutive honors in 2005 and 2006. Sophomore Becca Spengler represents Iowa’s Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Beamesderfer, a native of Lititz, PA, has started every game of her Hawkeye career. She is a three-time regional all-American and now a three-time all-Big Ten honoree. As a sophomore, she was named third team national all-American. In 2006, she was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year. This season, she has recorded ten goals and two assists. The ten goals lead the team. Additionally, she led the Big Ten with four defensive saves.

Dean, who hails from Bear, DE, has started 82 of 83 career games. The midfielder is a two-time recipient of the NFHCA National Academic Award and is a two-time academic all-Big Ten honoree. In 2008, she was named to ESPN the Magazine’s Academic All-District team and was named to the Big Ten Tournament all-tournament team. This season, she leads the Hawkeyes in points (26) and assists (10).

Thirty-nine Hawkeyes have received all-Big Ten honors under Head Coach Tracey Griesbaum.

“Tricia (Dean) and Meg (Beamesderfer) have had a great year and a great career,” said Griesbaum. “They are hard working and dedicated and have represented our program so well the past four years. They have dominated on both attack and defense this year and they provide solid leadership on a daily basis.”

Iowa returns to action tomorrow when it plays at eighth-ranked Michigan State in the second round of the Big Ten Tournament. The match is scheduled to begin at 11:15 a.m. (CT) and will be televised live by the Big Ten Network.

First Team
Meghan Beamesderfer, Sr., back
Tricia Dean, Sr., midfield

Defensive Player of the Year
Meghan Beamesderfer, Sr., back