Wieczorek Announces 2012 Team Captains

Sept. 22, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa head men’s track and field coach Larry Wieczorek announced today that seniors Erik Sowinski and Troy Doris have been named team captains for the 2011-2012 season.

Sowinski, a senior two-time All-American from Waukesha, Wis., placed fourth in the 800 meters (1:49.47) and ran the third leg on the 1,600-meter relay that placed fourth at 2011 NCAA Championships (3:07.16). The All-American also ran the third leg on the Big Ten Championship 1,600-meter relay team.

Doris, a first team All-American from Bolingbrook, Ill., won the Big Ten outdoor triple jump title with a then-school record-setting jump of 53-8 1/2 (16.37m). Doris is also a Big Ten Champion in indoor triple jump (52-6 16.00m).

“We have a number of individuals that are capable of being tremendous team captains,” said head coach Larry Wieczorek. “But Erik and Troy separate themselves because of their distinct success on the track. They’re both All-Americans, Big Ten champions and outstanding student-athletes. I’d say they’re very deserving of this honor.”

Wieczorek also announced the 2011 Leadership Group. The group includes Ethan Holmes, Ryan Lamparek, D’Juan Richardson, and Jeffery Herron.

Holmes, a junior from Clinton Iowa, received All-America honors after running the second leg on 1,600-meter relay that placed fourth at NCAA Championships (3:07.16).

Lamparek, a senior from Fairfax, Iowa, led the team in the shot put last year with a season-best throw of 56-4 1/2 (17.18m), and placed ninth in shot put (56-1 1/4, 17.10m) at the Big Ten Championships.

Richardson, a senior from Indianapolis, Ind., placed third in the 400-meter hurdles (51.52) at the Big Ten Outdoor Championships.

Herron, a senior from Richmond, Texas, led the team in the long jump last season. His personal best mark of 24-7 ranks ninth all-time at Iowa.

The Hawkeyes open the indoor season Jan. 14 against Illinois.