4 Hawkeyes Selected to National and Development Squads

June 13, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Former Iowa All-American Lauren Pfeiffer has been named to the 2012 U.S. Women’s National Team. In addition, three Hawkeyes have been named to the 2012 U.S. Women’s Development Squad. Current UI assistant coach Meghan Beamesderfer, midfielder Dani Hemeon and goalkeeper Kathleen McGraw were selected to the Development Team.

All competed at the Women’s National Championships in College Park, Md., which began on June 1. A field of 128 athletes were evaluated at the conclusion of the event.

“The Hawkeyes are privileged to have Lauren Pfeiffer represent us on the USA Field Hockey National Team once again,” said UI head coach and former national team member Tracey Griesbaum. “She represents our program so well.”

Pfeiffer, a member of the U.S. National Team since 2009, was a two-time All-American at Iowa. During her career, Pfeiffer earned all-Region honors three times, first team All-Big Ten honors twice and was named Big Ten Tournament MVP twice. She was selected to play in the NFHCA All-Star game as a senior after leading the Black and Gold in points (44) and goals (20). She ended her career with 53 goals to rank ninth in Hawkeye history. Pfeiffer, who started all 83 games in her career, previously served as Iowa’s volunteer assistant coach. One of 20 former Hawkeyes who have competed on the U.S. National Team, she led Iowa to the 2008 NCAA Final Four. Pfeiffer competed on the Senior New England High Performance team in 2011 and the Senior California Team in 2012.

“Meg (Beamesderfer) played really well at the Women’s National Championship Tournament,” said Griesbaum. “She hasn’t played organized hockey for two years but you really couldn’t tell. She continued to improve her game throughout the tournament. This is a tribute to her athleticism and competitive nature.”

Beamesderfer led Iowa to three-straight Big Ten Tournament titles (2006-08) and the 2008 NCAA Final Four. She was a two-time All-American, a four-time regional All-American and a three-time All-Big Ten honoree. In 2006, Beamesderfer was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year. As a senior in 2009, she led the team in goals (10) and defensive saves (four) and was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year. Beamesderfer, who started all 84 career games played, was also a team captain and MVP. She competed for the Midwest Senior High Performance team at the 2012 Championships.

“Dani (Hemeon) was able to contribute in the midfield for the California team,” said Griesbaum. “Her passing and eliminating ability really stood out. This is a great feat for such a young player.”

Hemeon, a midfielder from Gilroy, Calif., saw action in 17 contests as a freshman in 2011. She competed on the California Senior High Performance team at the 2010 and 2012 Championships and was a member of the Midwest Junior High Performance team in 2011.

“Merty (McGraw) was solid in goal once again for the Midwest Team,” said Griesbaum. “Being named to the Development Squad is a huge accomplishment. She is among the top four to five goalkeepers in the country.”

McGraw, a native of Atherton, Calif., is a three-time NFHCA National Academic Squad member. She was named second team All-Big Ten and regional All-America in 2011 as a junior. The goalkeeper ranked first in the Big Ten with five shutouts, giving her 10 for her career. She ranked first in the conference in save percentage (.782) during the regular season. McGraw ranked ninth nationally in goals against average (1.34) and sixth in the country in save percentage during the regular season. She has started the last 49 games in goal for Iowa and has started 53 of 54 career games played. McGraw was a member of the 2011 Midwest Junior High Performance team and the 2012 Midwest Senior High Performance team.