Iowa, Big Ten Announce 2018 and 2019 Football Schedules

Oct. 16, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. — The Big Ten office announced the conference football schedules for the 2018 and 2019 seasons today, as approved by the Big Ten Directors of Athletics. The schedules continue to include nine conference games, as Iowa will host four Big Ten games in 2018 and five league games in 2019.

Along with playing the six members of the West Division in both seasons, Iowa will meet East Division opponents Indiana, Maryland and Penn State in 2018 and Rutgers, Michigan and Penn State in 2019.

Beginning next season, the Big Ten football division alignments will feature Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers in the East Division. Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin will represent the West Division.

Iowa’s home slate in 2018 includes home trophy games against Wisconsin (Heartland Trophy, Sept. 22) and Nebraska (Heroes Game, Nov. 23). Iowa and the Cornhuskers will continue to play on Friday, the day after Thanksgiving, in both 2018 and 2019. Additional home conference games include Maryland (Oct. 20) and Northwestern (Nov. 10).

The Iowa road schedule in 2018 includes games at Minnesota (Oct. 6), Indiana (Oct. 13), Penn State (Oct. 27), Purdue (Nov. 3) and Illinois (Nov. 17).

The Hawkeyes get an early jump on conference play in 2019, as Iowa hosts Rutgers on Sept. 7, the second weekend of the season. Iowa resumes Big Ten play at Michigan on Oct. 5. Additional home games are against Penn State (Oct. 12), Purdue (Oct. 19), Minnesota (Nov. 16) and Illinois (Nov. 23).

Iowa closes the 2019 regular season with the Heroes Game at Nebraska on Friday, Nov. 29. Iowa also travels to Northwestern (Oct. 26) and Wisconsin (Nov. 9).

Iowa will announce its 2018 and 2019 non-conference schedules when all opponents and dates are finalized.

Here are Iowa’s Big Ten football schedules for both 2018 and 2019:

Sept. 22 Wisconsin*
Oct. 6 at Minnesota*
Oct. 13 at Indiana
Oct. 20 Maryland
Oct. 27 at Penn State
Nov. 3 at Purdue*
Nov. 10 Northwestern*
Nov. 17 at Illinois*
Nov. 23 Nebraska*

Sept. 7 Rutgers
Oct. 5 at Michigan
Oct. 12 Penn State
Oct. 19 Purdue*
Oct. 26 at Northwestern*
Nov. 9 at Wisconsin*
Nov. 16 Minnesota*
Nov. 23 Illinois*
Nov. 29 at Nebraska*

* – – Divisional game