Gable Earns Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award

Oct. 22, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Former University of Iowa head wrestling coach Dan Gable is the 2014 recipient of the Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award. Character Counts In Iowa made the announcement Tuesday from the Iowa Hall of Pride in Des Moines.

The Ray Awards are presented to individuals who consistently demonstrate good character as visible role models. The honor reflects former Governor Robert D. Ray’s lifelong commitment to civility and character development.

Past recipients include Fred Hoiberg, Aaron Kampman, Dallas Clark, Shawn Johnson, Norman Borlaug, and Coach Ed Thomas (posthumously).

Gable will accept the award on April 11, 2014 at Character Counts In Iowa’s All-Star Evening in West Des Moines, Iowa.