Field Hockey Releases 2016 Fall Schedule

June 3, 2016

2016 Schedule

IOWA CITY- Iowa — The University of Iowa field hockey team released its 2016 schedule today, which features seven teams that qualified for last year’s NCAA Tournament.

The Hawkeyes start their season Aug. 27 in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, for the ACC/B1G Challenge. The Hawkeyes will face Wake Forest in their first game of the Challenge, and finish the weekend against North Carolina (Aug. 28). Both the Demon Deacons and the Tar Heels qualified for the NCAA tournament last season; North Carolina was the 2015 NCAA runner-up

The Hawkeyes will play six of nine games in September on their home turf at Grant Field. Iowa will open its home schedule against Fairfield on Sept. 2 and Saint Louis on Sept. 4. Following those two home games, Iowa will travel to Kent State to take on the Golden Flashes as well Monmouth in Ohio.

On Sept. 16, the Hawkeyes will begin a four-game home stand, which features Penn State (Sept. 16), Ball State (Sept. 17), Maryland (Sept. 23), and Rutgers (Sept. 25). Maryland won the 2015 Big Ten Tournament, and lost in the first round of the 2015 NCAA Tournament.

The Hawkeyes will end the month of September in Bloomington against Indiana (Sept. 30), and travel to Louisville to take on the Cardinals (Oct. 2) before returning home to host Central Michigan (Oct. 7) and UC Davis (Oct. 9).

Following a road game on Oct. 14 against Northwestern, the Hawkeyes will face Michigan in an Ann Harbor on Oct. 16. Michigan advanced to the quarterfinals of the 2015 NCAA Tournament. The Hawkeyes will then return home to host Michigan State (Oct. 21), and finish the regular season on Oct. 27 against Ohio State.

The 2016 Big Ten Tournament will take place at the University of Maryland in November. The quarterfinals start on Nov. 3, and the Championship game will be played on Nov. 6.