Alex Meyer Wins University Nationals Freestyle Championship


AKRON, Ohio — University of Iowa All-American Alex Meyer defeated teammate Burke Paddock, 13-2, on Sunday to win the 80 kg division at the University Nationals.

Meyer recorded one fall and four technical falls in the tournament, outscoring his opponents 53-11. He is the second Hawkeye in as many years to win a University Nationals freestyle championship. Nathan Burak won the 97 kg title in 2015.

Paddock, who was 5-0 before dropping a 13-2 technical decision to Meyer in the finals, was one of three Hawkeyes to place runner-up at the event. Brandon Sorensen placed second to Adam Hall in the 70 kg division, and Sammy Brooks lost to Morgan McIntosh in the finals at 86 kg. Michael Kemerer (3rd/70 kg), Phillip Laux (6th/61 kg), and Cash Wilcke (8th/86 kg) also placed in the top eight.

Other University Nationals freestyle champions include Nico Megaludis (57 kg), Zane Richards (61 kg), Matthew Kolodzik (65 kg), Hall (70 kg), Isaiah Martinez (74 kg), McIntosh (86 kg), Kyven Gadson (97 kg), and Nick Gwiazdowski (125 kg). Those eight winners earned a roster spot on Team USA at the University World Championships in Corum, Turkey on Oct. 25-30. Meyer’s weight class is not contested at the University World Championships.