Match Notes: Iowa City Duals

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — November | Match Notes PDF

The third-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team hosts Iowa Central and Cornell College on Friday at 9 a.m. (CT) at the ninth annual Iowa City Duals. The Hawkeyes wrestle Iowa Central at 9 a.m. and Cornell at 10:30 a.m. Iowa Central and Cornell will wrestle each other at 12 p.m. Admission is $12 for adults, $8 for youth, and free for UI students and children five-years-old and younger. Times are subject to change.  
This season marks the ninth year of the Iowa City Duals. The Hawkeyes are 25-0 in the history of the duals, and Iowa wrestlers own a 242-8 record in the event. Iowa Central is making its eighth appearance in the duals and Cornell is making its seventh. 

The Hawkeyes have a combined record of 15-3 against Friday’s opponents. Iowa owns a 9-3 series advantage over Cornell. The Hawkeyes lost the first three meetings of the series beginning in 1930. The Rams scored consecutive victories in 1930 (17-13), 1932 (15.5-10.5) and 1933 (17-11). Iowa won its first series meeting, 22-11, in 1970. The Hawkeyes have since run their series win streak to eight with victories in 2007 (51-0), 2009 (57-0), 2010 (43-0), 2011 (42-0), 2012 (49-3), 2013 (50-3), 2014 (55-0), and 2015 (58-0). Iowa’s 58-0 win last season was the largest in series history. The Hawkeyes own an 8-0 series advantage against Iowa Central. The Hawkeyes won the first series meeting, 49-0, in 2000, and own wins in 2007 (50-0), 2008 (52-0), 2010 (45-0), 2011 (37-6), 2013 (55-0), 2014 (49-3), and 2015 (54-0). 

Four Hawkeyes in the probable lineup could make their Carver-Hawkeye Arena debuts Friday. Redshirt freshmen Michael Kemerer (157),  Joey Gunther (165), Cash Wilcke (197), and Steven Holloway (285) are in line to wrestle in the famed arena for the first time. Kemerer, Gunther, and Wilcke all won titles at the Luther Open on Nov. 12. Kemerer was 5-0 with three technical falls, one fall, and won win by forfeit. Gunther was 5-0 with one major decision, one technical fall, one fall, and two decisions. Wilcke was 4-0 with a pair of major decisions. Holloway was runner-up at Luther, earning a pair of 3-2 decisions before falling in the finals. 

The Hawkeyes are 233-23 all-time at Carver-Hawkeye Arena since moving from the UI Field House in 1983. The Hawkeyes have recorded 20 undefeated season in Carver-Hawkeye Arena, the most recent in 2012-13 (9-0). Carver-Hawkeye Arena has hosted two United States Olympic Team Trials, three Big Ten Championships (1983, 1994, 2005), and four NCAA Championships (1986, 1991, 1995, 2001). The Hawkeyes have won five tournament titles on their home mat, including the 1983 and 1994 Big Ten Championships, and the 1986, 1991 and 1995 NCAA Championships. 

Iowa’s overall dual meet record is 974-226-31 (.799) in 106 seasons. The Hawkeyes have won 23 national titles and 35 Big Ten titles. Iowa’s 53 NCAA Champions have won a total of 81 NCAA individual titles, crowning six three-time and 16 two-time champions. The Hawkeyes’ 111 Big Ten champions have combined for 197 conference titles. There have been seven four-time, 18 three-time, and 29 two-time Big Ten champions from Iowa. Iowa’s 154 All-Americans have earned All-America status 319 times, including 18 four-time, 36 three-time and 40 two-time honorees.

Iowa returns five of six All-Americans from last season, including seniors Thomas Gilman (2nd/125), Cory Clark (2nd/133), Alex Meyer (8th/174), and Sammy Brooks (8th/184), and junior Brandon Sorensen (2nd/149). Nathan Burak (4th/197) graduated in 2016. The Hawkeyes have crowned at least one All-American in 45 consecutive seasons, a stretch dating back to 1972. Iowa has totaled 273 All-America honors during that stretch. 
    The Hawkeyes’ six All-Americans in 2016 tied Penn State, Oklahoma State, and Virginia Tech for most in the NCAA tournament. Clark and Burak won All-America honors for the third time, Gilman and Sorensen became two-time All-Americans, and Meyer and Brooks were first-time All-Americans.
    Iowa and Virginia Tech are the only school returning five 2016 All-Americans.
University of Iowa wrestlers Carter Happel, Matt Malcom, Kaleb Young, and Alex Marinelli won titles in their Hawkeye debuts at the Grand View Open in Pleasant Hill, Iowa. Happel won the 141-pound championship, Malcom won the 157-pound title, and Young won the 165-pound title in the freshman division. Marinelli placed first in the 165-pound open division. Happel was 3-0 with a technical fall and a pair of pins. Malcom was 3-0 with a pin, Young scored two pins and a decision in three matches, and Marinelli was 4-0 with two decisions, a major decision, and a fall. 

LUTHER OPEN — NOV. 15, 2016
The University of Iowa wrestling team won 12 titles at the Luther Open in Decorah, Iowa. Iowa won every bracket but 285 in the Elite Division and crowned three more champions in the Silver (freshman) Division. Thomas Gilman pinned his way through the 125-pound Elite bracket, and Kaleb Young recorded four first-period falls to win the 165-pound Silver division. Iowa totaled 32 pins and scored bonus points in 67 matches.  In what amounted to a pseudo wrestle-off, seven championship matches featured a pair of Hawkeyes. Gilman pinned Perez Perez in 5:29 in the 125-pound finals; Cory Clark defeated Phillip Laux, 4-1, at 133; Topher Carton defeated Paul Glynn, 4-2, at 141; Brandon Sorensen earned a 16-5 major decision against Jeren Glosser at 149; Michael Kemerer won by forfeit against Logan McQuillen at 157; Joey Gunther defeated Jeremiah Moody, 10-4, at 165, and Cash Wilcke defeated Mitch Bowman, 3-2, at 197. Alex Meyer and Sammy Brooks added titles at 174 and 184, respectively. Steven Holloway placed runner-up at 285. Carter Happel and Matt Malcom won titles for the second consecutive weekend. Happel recorded two falls and two technical falls to win the 141-pound Silver bracket, and Malcom was 4-0 at 157 pounds. 

Season and single dual tickets are now available for purchase on Season tickets for six home dates are available for $75. UI students and children five-years old and younger are admitted free to all wrestling events. Single dual tickets are $12/$8 (adult/youth) for the Iowa City Duals (Nov. 18), and duals against Wisconsin (Feb. 3) and Nebraska (Feb. 12). 
Single dual tickets are $15/$10 (adult/youth) for duals against Iowa State (Dec. 10), Penn State (Jan. 20), and Ohio State (Jan. 27).  

Iowa wrestling events are broadcast by KXIC and streamed online at Hawkeye All-Access. Steven Grace and Mark Ironside will call the action for Hawkeye Sports Properties, a property of Learfield.