19 Student-Athletes Recognized at Track and Field Awards Banquet

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — Dec. 2016

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa track and field team held its annual awards banquet on Sunday, Dec. 4 to recognize 19 student-athletes for their athletic and academic accomplishments.

Senior Aaron Mallett and sophomore Briana Guillory were named MVP’s in Track and Field for the 2016 indoor and outdoor seasons.

Guillory, a native of Antioch, California, was a three-time second team All-American, two-time Big Ten Champion, and Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Guillory set the school record in the 100 meters with a time of 11.35 and ran third leg on the school record-setting 400-meter relay in the Big Ten Outdoor Championships in May.

Mallett receives an MVP honor for the second straight year. The 2016 Big Ten Indoor Champion in the 60-meter hurdles was also named first-team All-American in the 60-meter hurdles, placing third at the NCAA Championships, finishing with a time of 7.70. In Mallett’s outdoor campaign, he was a two-time second team All-American, two-time Big Ten Champion and NCAA qualifier.

Seniors Ben Anderson and Tess Wilberding were crowned Most Outstanding Cross Country Team Members. Wilberding recorded a historic final season in the Black and Gold. The Troy, Michigan native, became the third runner since 2000 to lead Iowa in every race joining teammate Madison Waymire, who complete the feat in 2015, and Sarah Arens in 2000.

Anderson led the men in four of the Hawkeye’s six races and set career-bests in the 6,000-meters and 10,000-meters. His career-best run at the NCAA Regionals meet in Iowa City on Nov. 11 led the men to an 11th place finish, their highest since 2014.

Sophomore Noah Larrison and senior Jordyn Sindt were named the program’s most improved athletes. Larrison finished in the top five in six of the eight races he competed on in the 400-meter hurdles. His time of 50.94 at the Big Ten Championships was a career-high.

Sindt set career-high times in three events. Her 2:12.91 in the 800-meters finish at the Indoor Big Ten Championships placed her 21st and her third place finish in the 800-meters at the Border Battle was her highest finish of the year.

Other notable honors include:

Outstanding Freshman: Mar’yea Harris, Reno Tuufuli/ Briana Guillory
Inspiration Award: Will Dougherty / Alexis Hernandez
Teammate Award: Mar’yea Harris / Lindsay Herra
Keatinge/ Cretzmeyer Award: Will Dougherty / Heaven Chandler
Silver Hawk Award: Carter Lilly / Lake Kwaza
John Raffensperger Dedication Award: Avery Meyers / Madison Waymire