Gustafson Named to Wooden Award Late Season Top 20

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 | WBB Tickets | Hawk Talk Monthly — February

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior Megan Gustafson has been named to the 2018 John R. Wooden Award Late Season Top 20 list. The announcement was made by the Los Angeles Athletic Club on ESPNW on Monday evening. Players on the list are considered strong candidates for the most prestigious national player of the year honor.
All 20 student-athletes on the Late Season Top 20 list appeared on the Midseason Top 25. Gustafson is one of three student-athletes from the Big Ten included on the top-20 list.
Through 24 games this season, Gustafson averages 24.5 points and 12.6 rebounds. She’s shooting 65.5 percent from the field and 81.0 percent from the free throw line. In 11 conference contests, Gustafson averages 27.2 points and 13.0 rebounds. She’s shooting 61.4 percent from the field and 84.7 percent from the free throw line in Big Ten action.
Gustafson is the only player in the country averaging 24 or more points and 12 or more rebounds per game. She currently ranks in the top-8 nationally in nine statistical categories. Gustafson leads the nation in field goals made (228) and total points (588), ranks second in double-doubles (22), points per game (24.5), field goal percentage (65.5), and rebounds (303), fifth in defensive rebounds per game (9) and rebounds per game (12.6), and eighth in free throws made (132).
The Port Wing, Wisconsin, native has been recognized by the Big Ten in 12 of the first 13 weeks of the season (7X Player of the Week, 5X Honor Roll). Earlier this morning, Gustafson broke a Big Ten single season record with her seventh Big Ten Player of the Week award, besting Jantel Lavender’s (Ohio State) previous record of six (2010-11).
Players not appearing on the list are eligible for the National Ballot, which will be announced in early March. The National Ballot consist of 15 top players. Players not listed on the National Ballot will no longer be eligible for the Wooden Award nor the John R. Wooden Award All-America Team. Voting begins at the end of the season, and voters, consisting of members of the national college basketball media, will take into account the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament.
The Wooden Award All-America Team will be announced the week of the Elite Eight round of the NCAA Tournament. The winner of the 2018 John R. Wooden Award will be presented during the ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s on Friday, April 6, 2018.
Gustafson and the Hawkeyes return to action on Thursday, Feb. 8, hosting Penn State at 7 p.m. (CT) in Carver-Hawkeye Arena.

Name School Conference Height Class Position
Kristine Anigwe California Pac-12 6-4 Jr. C/F
Ariel Atkins Texas Big 12 5-11 Sr. G
Kalani Brown Baylor Big 12 6-7 Jr. C
Lexie Brown Duke ACC 5-9 Sr. G
Jordin Canada UCLA Pac-12 5-6 Sr. G
Napheesa Collier# Connecticut The American 6-1 Jr. F
Sophie Cunningham Missouri SEC 6-1 Jr. G
Asia Durr Louisville ACC 5-10 Jr. G
Katelynn Flaherty Michigan Big Ten 5-7 Sr. G
Megan Gustafson Iowa Big Ten 6-3 Jr. F/C
Sabrina Ionescu Oregon Pac-12 5-10 Soph. G
Teaira McCowan Mississippi State SEC 6-7 Jr. C
Kelsey Mitchell# Ohio State Big Ten 5-8 Sr. G
Kia Nurse Connecticut The American 6-0 Sr. G
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame ACC 5-8 Jr. G
Katie Lou Samuelson# Connecticut The American 6-3 Jr. G/F
Shakayla Thomas Florida State ACC 5-11 Sr. F
Victoria Vivians Mississippi State SEC 6-1 Sr. G
Gabby Williams Connecticut The American 5-11 Sr. F
A’ja Wilson# South Carolina SEC 6-5 Sr. F