Gustafson Named Top-15 Finalist for the Wooden Award

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly — February

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior Megan Gustafson has been named to the 2018 National Ballot for the John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s, ESPNU and the Wooden Award announced Saturday.
The list is comprised of 15 student-athletes who are candidates for the Wooden Award All-American Team and the Wooden Award Trophy – an award presented to the most outstanding women’s college basketball player in the United States.
In 31 games this season, Gustafson is averaging 25.6 points, 12.7 rebounds, and shooting 66.8 percent from the field. The Port Wing, Wisconsin, native broke a Big Ten Tournament and Iowa single-game record with 48 points against Minnesota on March 2. Gustafson is one of two Big Ten student-athletes included on the top-15 list (Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State).
Gustafson is the only player in the country averaging 25 or more points and 12 or more rebounds per game. She currently ranks in the top-5 nationally in eight statistical categories. She leads the nation in points per game (25.6), field goal percentage (66.8), field goals made (308), and total points (794). She also ranks second in double-doubles (27), fourth in rebounds (394), and fifth in rebounds per game (12.7) and defensive rebounds per game (9).
Voting will take place from March 13 to March 20. Voters, consisting of hundreds of members of the national college basketball media, take into consideration a player’s entire season of play, as well as the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament.
The Wooden Award All-American Team, consisting of the nation’s top five players and the finalists for the Wooden Award, will be announced following the Elite Eight round of the NCAA Tournament on March 28 on ESPNU.
The 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship bracket will be announced Monday, March 12 on ESPN at 6 p.m. (CT).

Name School Conference Height Class Position
Kalani Brown Baylor Big 12 6-7 Jr. C
Lexie Brown Duke ACC 5-9 Sr. G
Jordin Canada UCLA Pac-12 5-6 Sr. G
Napheesa Collie Connecticut The American 6-1 Jr. F
Sophie Cunningham Missouri SEC 6-1 Jr. G
Asia Durr Louisville ACC 5-10 Jr. G
Megan Gustafson Iowa Big Ten 6-3 Jr. F
Sabrina Ionescu Oregon Pac-12 5-11 Soph. G
Teaira McCowan Mississippi State SEC 6-7 Jr. C
Kelsey Mitchell# Ohio State Big Ten 5-8 Sr. G
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame ACC 5-8 Jr. G
Katie Lou Samuelson Connecticut The American 6-3 Jr. G/F
Victoria Vivians Mississippi State SEC 6-1 Sr. G
Gabby Williams Connecticut The American 5-11 Sr. F
A’ja Wilson South Carolina SEC 6-5 Sr. F