Gustafson Tabbed 2nd Team All-American by USA Today

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly — February

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior Megan Gustafson has been named an All-American by USA Today. Gustafson was named to the second team. It is the first All-America honor of Gustafson’s career.
Gustafson is Iowa’s first All-American since Sam Logic earned the distinction in 2015. She is the first Hawkeye to earn the honor from USA Today.
Gustafson, the Big Ten Player of the Year, is averaging 25.6 points, 12.7 rebounds, and shooting 66.8 percent from the field in 31 games this season. She broke a Big Ten Tournament and Iowa single-game scoring record with 48 points against Minnesota on March 2.
The Port Wing, Wisconsin, native is the only player in the country averaging 25 or more points and 12 or more rebounds per game. She currently ranks in the top-5 nationally in eight statistical categories. She leads the nation in points per game (25.6), field goal percentage (66.8), and field goals made (308), and ranks second in total points (794) and double-doubles (27), and fifth in rebounds per game (12.7), rebounds (394), and defensive rebounds per game (9).
The 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship bracket will be announced Monday, March 12 on ESPN at 6 p.m. (CT).
F A’ja Wilson, 6-5, senior, South Carolina
G/F Katie Lou Samuelson, 6-3, junior, Connecticut
G Asia Durr, 5-10, junior, Louisville
G Sabrina Ionescu, 5-10, sophomore, Oregon
G Victoria Vivians, 6-1, senior, Mississippi State
G Gabby Williams, 5-11, senior, Connecticut
C Kalani Brown, 6-7, junior, Baylor
G Arike Ogunbowale, 5-8, junior, Notre Dame
G Kelsey Mitchell, 5-8, senior, Ohio State
F Megan Gustafson, 6-3, junior, Iowa
G Brittany McPhee, 6-0, senior, Stanford
G Brooke McCarty, 5-4, senior, Texas
F Napheesa Collier, 6-1, junior, Connecticut
F Myisha Hines-Allen, 6-2, senior, Louisville
G Jordin Canada, 5-6, senior, UCLA
Player of the year
A’ja Wilson, South Carolina
Coach of the year
Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame
Freshman of the year
Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M