Varsity Eights Earn Bronze Medals as Hawkeyes Break Team Record at B1G Championships

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch – 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly — May 2018

INDIANAPOLIS – The University of Iowa women’s rowing team finished fourth Sunday with a school record 111 points at the 2018 Big Ten Championships.

Sophomore Contessa Harold was named First Team All-Big Ten, Kaelynn Heiberg and Hunter Koenigsfeld were named Second Team All-Big Ten, and Baillie McCunn was named Iowa’s Sportsmanship Award Honoree.


 I Varsity Eight: After a constant battle with Michigan, the I Varsity Eight crew earned a bronze medal for the Hawkeyes, crossing the finish line 1.646 seconds behind the second-place Wolverines.

II Varsity Eight: The II Varsity Eight race earned a podium finish, and a bronze medal, as they finished third, passing the finish line 1.52 seconds ahead of Wisconsin to secure the third-place finish.

I Varsity Four: In the closest race of the day, the I Varsity Four crew battled with Michigan State for sixth, but crossed the finish line .585 seconds behind the Spartans to finish in seventh.

II Varsity Four: In a close battle for fifth, the Hawkeyes battled with Rutgers, but ultimately fell to the Scarlet Knights, crossing the finish line in sixth, 1.693 seconds behind.

III Varsity Four: The III Varsity Four crew finished in sixth, 5.729 seconds over seventh-place Minnesota and 13.465 seconds ahead of eighth-place Rutgers. 

I Novice Eight: The I Novice Eight crew finished in seventh-place, 2.873 seconds ahead of eighth-place Indiana.

II Novice Eight: In a similar race, the II Novice Eight crew finished in seventh-place, 3.79 seconds ahead of eighth-place Indiana. 


“It was another step forward for us this year as a team.  The team finished solidly in fourth place, a position we shared a year ago, and our NCAA boat classes finished third.  To accomplish that, we scored a program-record 111 points.  Certainly two of the highlights of the regatta were the medal performances from our top two eights, which were a first for the program.”

“It’s been five years of steady improvement and you can really feel the excitement from everyone to have it continue.”


I Varsity Eight: Ashley Duda, Izzy Dolba, Kaelynn Heiberg, Hannah Greenlee, Hunter Koenigsfeld, Contessa Harold, Katie Pearson, Eve Stewart, Logan Jones (coxswain)

II Varsity Eight: Claire Rutherford, Kasia Gniatczyk, Ashlynn Bauer, Megan Sprengeler, Baillie McCunn, Paige Schlapkohl, Zora Marinkovich, Rachel Canon, Faith Wieland (coxswain)

I Varsity Four: Danielle Bender, Gemma KerrKayla JensenAmelia Koehn, Laura Justis (coxswain)

II Varsity Four: Carly Millerd, Paige Przybylski, Alysson Wittmeyer, Allison Blevins, Lisa Morales (coxswain)

III Varsity Four: Trisha Huerta, Heidi Mentz, Andjela Milenkovic, Alexis Chamness, Elizabeth Pritchard (coxswain)  

I Novice Eight: Nicole Majerus, Megan Willey, Nathalia Wellenreiter, Elena Waiglein, Izzy Bowman, Amalie Millerd, Tessa Walsh, Katie Rygh, Katie Becker (coxswain) 

II Novice Eight: Kathryn Raver, Elizabeth Keene, Anna Varley, Mary Grevas, Keely Paus, Hailey Weisensel, Emma Degen, Madelyn Theut, Emily Steimel (coxswain)


The NCAA announces the postseason field on Tuesday, May 15 at 4 p.m. (CT). The NCAA selection show is streamed at The Hawkeyes will host a watch party at the Feller Club Room inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena.