Bluder Named Semifinalist for Naismith Coach of the Year

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch | Hawk Talk Monthly — March

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa head coach Lisa Bluder has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2019 Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s Basketball College Coach of the Year award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Tuesday.
Bluder led the Hawkeyes to their first Big Ten Tournament Title since 2001 on Sunday. Iowa owns an overall record of 26-6 – its highest win total since 2014-15. In 19 years at the helm, Bluder has led Iowa to 12, 20-win seasons. The Hawkeyes have won 20 or more games in 10 of the last 12 years.
Iowa is ranked No. 8 in the AP Poll, marking the highest ranking for the program since 1996. The Hawkeyes rank in the top-13 nationally in seven statistical categories. Iowa leads the country in field goal percentage (51.9), and ranks second in assists (702) and assists per game (21.9), fourth in assist/turnover ratio (1.61), seventh in free throw percentage (77.7), and 13th in scoring offense (79.8) and fewest fouls per game (13.9).
Bluder has guided senior center Megan Gustafson to nationally prominence. The Player of the Year candidate ranks in the top-4 nationally in eight categories. She leads the country in field goal percentage (69.6), points per game (28.0), total points (897), and field goals made (369), ranks second in double-doubles (30) and defensive rebounds per game (10), third in total rebounds (424), and fourth in rebounds per game (13.3).
The candidates will be narrowed to four finalists on March 21.
The NCAA Women’s Basketball Selection Show airs Monday, March 18 at 6 p.m. (CT) on ESPN.
2019 Naismith Coach of the Year Candidates
Geno Auriemma, UConn
Lisa Bluder, Iowa
Amanda Butler, Clemson
Kelly Graves, Oregon
Carolyn Kieger, Marquette
Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame
Wes Moore, NC State
Kim Mulkey, Baylor
Vic Schaefer, Mississippi State
Jeff Walz, Louisville