Wieting Named to Mackey Award Preseason Watch List

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawk Talk Monthly – June | Fight For Iowa | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior tight end Nate Wieting has been named to the 2019 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List.
Presented annually by the Friends of John Mackey, the award goes to the nation’s most outstanding tight end. Wieting is one of eight tight ends from the Big Ten on the 60-player list.
Wieting (6-foot-4, 250 pounds) saw action in 12 games last season with starts against Indiana and Purdue. He totaled two receptions for 51 yards. From Rockford, Illinois, Wieting is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.
T.J. Hockenson won the 2018 John Mackey award, becoming the second Hawkeye (Dallas Clark, 2002) to do so. Last season, Noah Fant was Iowa’s third semifinalist in program history, joining Allen Reisner (2010) and Tony Moeaki (2009).
Established in 2000, the award is named after Syracuse tight end, five-time Pro Bowl selection, and NFL Hall of Famer John Mackey.
The 2019 John Mackey Award winner will be announced Dec. 11, and then presented Dec. 12 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.
The Hawkeyes open the 2019 season Aug. 31, hosting Miami, Ohio. For ticket information, visit hawkeyesports.com/footballgameday.

FFI footer