Hawkeyes Register Nine Top-10 USTFCCCA Event Squads

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa track and field registered a combined nine top-10 USTFCCCA Track & Field Event Squad Rankings in the first edition of the list, led by the men’s 400-meter group (No. 2 in NCAA).

The 400-meter group is led by standout freshman Jenoah McKiver and returning All-American, junior Wayne Lawrence, Jr. McKiver currently leads the Big Ten in three events, registering the fastest 400-meters (45.78), 600-meters (1:16.08) and has ran the fastest split on an Iowa 4×400-meter relay this season (45.12). The men’s 4×400-meter relay, including junior Julien Gillum, sophomore Spencer Gudgel, Lawrence, Jr. and McKiver is currently seventh-fastest in the NCAA (3:05.68).

The Hawkeye men also rank third nationally in the 60-meter hurdles and the weight throw. Iowa has four hurdlers currently ranked in the NCAA top-50, led by sophomore Grant Conway (No. 12). Senior school-record holder Tyler Lienau ranks second in the Big Ten and No. 13 in the country in the weight throw to lead the men’s throws. Sophomore Austin West’s 5,832-point heptathlon total is currently the fourth  in the NCAA. The deep 800-meter group led by freshman Antonio Abrego and a slew of talented upperclassmen is ranked fifth, and the shot put is sixth in the country.

The Hawkeye women have four event groups ranked in the top-10. Both throws events check in at third, and the 400-meter group and the 60-meter hurdle group are ranked 10th.

Throws are led by senior Nia Britt, who won the weight throw at the Razorback Invitational on Jan. 28 and moved to second on Iowa’s all-time list (20.68m / 67’10.25”). Britt also ranks second on Iowa’s all-time shot put list. Three additional Hawkeyes have thrown top-10 all-time program marks this season in the weight throw (3. Amanda Howe (20.67m / 67’9.75”), 4. Jamie Kofron (19.39m / 63’7.5”), 9. Alivia Bauer (18.11m / 59’5”). Sophomore Kat Moody recorded the third-best shot put in Iowa history at the Hawkeye Invitational on Jan. 15.

The 60-meter hurdle squad is led by freshman Myreanna Bebe. Bebe moved to third all-time at Iowa in the event (8.26) at the Razorback Invitational on Jan. 29 — the second-fastest Big Ten time this season and 26th in the NCAA. Sophomore Tionna Tobias also broke onto the top-10 list (8.44) with her performance at the Wieczorek Invitational (Jan. 22).

The 400-meter group is led by 4×400-meter relay members junior Mariel Bruxvoort, senior Payton Wensel, and freshmen Jaiden Itson and Tesa Roberts. The quartet’s time (3:35.90) is currently ninth-fastest in the NCAA and fourth all-time at Iowa.

The Hawkeyes have three additional event groups ranked in the top-15, including the No. 11 men’s 60-meter group, led by sophomore school-record holder Kalen Walker and freshman Austin Kresley. The women’s 800-meter group, led by senior Mallory King checks in at 12th and the 200-meter squad led by sophomore school-record holder LaSarah Hargrove and freshman Lia Love is ranked 15th.

For a full list of all event squads, visit: USTFCCCA Event Squad Rankings.