Hawkeyes Crown Five Champions

Jan. 31, 2004

CEDAR FALLS, IA – The University of Iowa men’s track and field teams crowned three individual champions at the UNI Invitational in Cedar Falls, IA, this afternoon, while the women’s team had one event winner in Cedar Falls and another at the Illinois Invitational in Champaign, IL. The women’s team placed fourth at Illinois with 51 points with their split squad, while host Illinois won the meet with 160. The Hawkeye men’s team recorded 19 top-five finishes, while the women’s team recorded 13.

Senior Shellene Williams won an event for the third consecutive week, winning the 60 meters at the Illini Invitational with a collegiate-best 7.50. Freshman Chloe Millward was the women’s winner at the UNI Invitational, taking first in the 800 meters (2:24.07). For the men, senior Derrick Burks won the 60 meters for the second time this season, posting a season-best 6.87 in the finals. Senior Brad Daufeldt won the weight throw (59-9 1/2) and junior Tony Rakaric won the mile (4:17.83). Placing second for Iowa were senior Michelle Lahann in the mile (4:52.73), senior Zach Digney in the 60 (6.94) and 200 meters (21.86), freshman Rob Long in the 600 meters (1:21.48) and junior Matt O’Hollearn in the 800 meters (1:57.37).

Iowa’s next competition will be at the co-ed 21-team Sevigne Husker Invitational Saturday, February 7 in Lincoln, NE.

Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader