Hawkeyes Collect 12 Championships

Feb. 20, 2004

Complete Results

Iowa City, IA – The University of Iowa men’s and women’s track teams hosted the Iowa Open on Friday night. Senior Ken Kemeny once again provisionally qualified in the shot put with a throw of 58-9 1/2 (17.92 m). The men’s team crowned seven champions while the women’s team brought home five.

Kemeny has now provisionally qualified three times in the shot put. His best qualifying throw of 59-10 1/2 (18.25 m) came last weekend at the ISU Classic. Omar Isaacs, Russell Peterson, Zach Digney, Tony Leick, Adam Roche and Kemeny all claimed first place finishes. The 1,600 meter relay team of Isaacs, Peterson, Robert Beach and Matt O’Hollearn also finished first. Overall, 15 Hawkeyes set season-best times while 10 set collegiate-best times.

For the women, Kamesha Marshall, Tiff Pedersen, Kyndra Middleton, Monica Mims and Jessie Strand each won an event. Strand won the pole vault in only her second competition this season. The 1,600 meter relay provided some excitement for the evening but the Hawkeyes were barely edged out at the finish line by Augustana. The Hawkeye women recorded 19 personal season-best times and 15 collegiate-best times.

Both teams will compete in the 2004 Big Ten Indoor Championships on February 28 and 29. The men will travel to Ann Arbor, MI while the women will have home field advantage as host school. A press conference will be held to preview the women’s championships on Monday, February 23 at 2 p.m. in the Press Room on the ground floor of Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Head Coach Jim Grant will be joined by seniors Shellene Williams and Michelle Lahann, and freshman Nikki Chapple.