Hamilton Places Second in Hammer

April 24, 2004

DES MOINES, IA – Hawkeye senior Shellene Williams earned Iowa’s second Drake Relays title of 2004, winning the special 400-meter race in a season-best 52.95 during Saturday’s competition in Des Moines. Her time was just .30 seconds off the school record of 52.65, set in 1996 by Ellen Grant. Senior Ken Kemeny was Iowa’s other event winner, taking the shot put title on Friday.

The Hawkeyes also recorded two runner-up finishes on the day. Sophomore Adam Hamilton placed second in the hammer throw with a collegiate-best 206-7. The women’s 3,200-meter relay of senior Michelle Lahann, freshman Shannon Stanley, junior Aisha Hume and senior Atalie Barber also placed second with a season-best time of 8:48.87. Hawkeye freshman Peaches Roach placed fourth in the special women’s high jump with a season-best 5-10 3/4.

The Hawkeyes’ next meet will be the sixth annual Iowa Musco Twilight meet, called Iowa Musco VI, Saturday, May 1 in Iowa City. All events will be held at Cretzmeyer Track. Admission is $3 for adults and students. Teams competing in the co-ed meet will be Drake, Illinois State, Lincoln, Minnesota, Northern Iowa, Wisconsin, Wisconsin-LaCrosse and Iowa. Field events are scheduled to start at 3 p.m., running event “B” sections are set to start at 3:30 p.m. and running event finals are set to start at 6 p.m.

Men’s Sprint Medley Relay
1. Alabama 3:18.83
10. Iowa (Leick, Long, O’Hollearn, Tweedy) 3:28.06

Men’s Hammer Throw
1. Lucais MacKay (Georgia) 224-1
2. Adam Hamilton (Iowa) 206-7
6. Brad Daufeldt (Iowa) 196-2
17. Chris Voller (Iowa) 171-6

Men’s 100 Meters
1. Demi Omole (Wisconsin) 10.29
8. Zach Digney (Iowa) 12.78

Women’s 3,200-Meter Relay
1. Michigan 8:43.42
2. Iowa (Lahann, Stanley, Hume, Barber) 8:48.87

Women’s Special 400 Meters
1. Shellene Williams (Iowa) 52.95

Women’s Special High Jump
1. Amy Acuff (Asics) 6-2
4. Peaches Roach (Iowa) 5-10 3/4