2004 Iowa Athletic Hall of Fame Class Announced

Aug. 13, 2004

Five former University of Iowa student-athletes and one coach will be inducted into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletic Hall of Fame on September 4th.

Athletes Duane Draves (Swimming 1947-1950), Richard Ferguson (Cross Country 1951-54, Track 1952-1955), Charles Yagla (Wrestling 1973-1976), Artur Wojdat (Swimming 1989-1992), and Kristy Gleason (Field Hockey 1989, 90, 92, 93) are being inducted along with longtime football coach Hayden Fry (1978-1998).

The class will be inducted at the annual Varsity Club banquet and recognized at halftime of the September 4th Kent State football game.

The September 4th banquet begins at 6:30 p.m. at the Iowa Memorial Union 2nd Floor Ballroom, with a social starting at 5:30 p.m in the Ballroom Lobby. Tickets are available to the public at $25 per person and can only be purchased in advance by calling the Iowa Athletic Department at (319) 335-9438.

The six inductees were selected by a vote of all dues-paying members of the National Iowa Varsity Club. All former Hawkeye athletes who have won at least one major letter are eligible for the Hall of Fame. Athletes must have completed their eligibility at least ten years prior to selection. Coaches and administrators must have retired or left the university at least five years prior to selection.

Also being recognized during the weekend will be honorary letterwinners; Paul Dlugosch, of Storm Lake, and Darwin Bunger, of Burlington. Also named is the Letterwinner of the Year Award given this year to Robert A. Stein, of Iowa City, the Lifetime Achievement Award given to George Nissen, of San Diego, California, and the Distinguished Service Award given to William Ashton of Davenport. The reunion teams include the Dolphin Club, and a ten year celebration of the Iowa Women’s Rowing program.

The following are bios of this year’s inductees and award winners:

Duane Draves

DUANE LAVERNE DRAVES (Swimming 1947-50) – Captain, 1950; 150-yard backstroke All-American 1948,49; 400-yard freestyle relay All-American 1948,50 and Big Ten Champion, 1948; 300-yard medley relay All-American, 1948,49,50 and Big Ten & NCAA Champion 1949; 150-yard individual medley All-American, 1950; 1949 team finished second at NCAA Championships

Richard Ferguson

RICHARD KIRWAN FERGUSON (Cross Country 1951-54, Track 1952-55) – All-American and NCAA 2 mile Champion 1953; 2-time Big Ten Cross Country Champion 1952,53; 2-time Big Ten Outdoor 2 mile Champion 1952,53; Canadian Olympian at 1952 Helsinki Games- 5,000; Third in “Miracle Mile” race in 1954. Finished third behind Roger Bannister, the first man to break four minutes in the mile, and John Landy. Bannister and Landy became the first athletes ever to run the mile under four minutes in the same race.

Charles Yagla

CHARLES EDWARD YAGLA (Wrestling 1973-76) – 2-Time NCAA Champion 1975,76; Outstanding Wrestler at NCAA Championships 1976; 3-Time All-American 1974,75,76; 2-Time Big Ten Champion 1975,76; Co-Captain 1975,76; Silver Medalist Jr. World Championships 1974; 5-Time USWF National Champion 1975-79; 1978 USA Senior Freestyle Champion; 1978 USA Senior Greco – Roman Champion; Alternate US Olympic Team 1976; World Cup Champion 1979; US Olympic Team Member 1980

Artur Wojdat

ARTUR WOJDAT (Swimming 1989-92) – Poland Olympic Team 1988,92; Former world record holder in 400-meter freestyle; Bronze Medalist in 400 meter freestyle at 1988 Olympic Games; 18-time NCAA All American; 9-time NCAA Champion (most by any athlete at University of Iowa); Only athlete to win 500 meter freestyle at NCAA Championships all four years; Goodwill Games record holder

Kristy Gleason

KRISTY MARIE GLEASON (Field Hockey 1989, 90, 92, 93) – Honda Broderick Award Winner 1994; 4-time First team All-American 1989,90,92,93; 2nd leading scorer in NCAA history (132); All-Region team 1989,90,92,93; First team all-Big Ten 1989,90,92,93; Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year 1992,93; Big Ten’s Suzy Favor Athlete of the Year 1994; Bronze Medalist World Championship US Pan Am Team 1991,96; USA National Team, 1991,92,94-96

Hayden Fry

JOHN HAYDEN FRY (Football Coach 1978-98) – Iowa’s all-time winningest football coach (143-89-6 record); 11th winningest coach in Division 1-A history; Led Iowa to 1981,85,90 Big Ten Championships; Coached Iowa in 14 bowl games; Big Ten Coach of the Year 1981,90,91; Coached 7 consensus all-Americans, 18 first-team all-Americans, 90 first-team all-Big Ten selections, and had 64 players drafted into the NFL; 2004 Inductee National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame; 2004 received Duffy Daugherty Memorial Award for outstanding contributions to college football.

DARWIN BUNGER – Since graduating from the University of Iowa College of Law in 1966, Darwin Bunger has donated thousands of volunteer hours and financial support to Iowa athletics while serving as a charter board member and President on the Carroll Country `I’ Club; lifetime board member and was President for two consecutive terms on the National `I’ Club Board of Directors. He was awarded the Hawk of the Year award in 1989.

PAUL DLUGOSCH – Paul Dlugosch has supported the U of I athletics program for more than 40 years and during this time period, he has not missed a home football game; served on the National I-Club Board of Directors; developed a basketball camp in Northwest Iowa and administered their camps with the assistance of the Iowa coaches.

GEORGE NISSSEN, LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD – Since the 1930’s, his contributions in the field of gymnastics have included the invention of the trampoline and improvements of competitive gymnastics equipment; performing aerial acts and promoting fitness worldwide; and establishing the trampoline as a training tool for military and space program, and also promoting trampoline as an Olympic event. He has also authored a multitude of training guides for the sport of Gymnastics

ROBERT A. STEIN, LETTERWINNER OF THE YEAR AWARD – Recognition of outstanding service and dedication to the Varsity Club, a 14 year member of the Board of Directors; two-time President of the Board of Directors; volunteer on a multitude of committees; major financial contributor on several projects; and chair of the Hall of Fame Ambassadors since its inception.

WILLIAM ASHTON, DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD – Recognition of 40 years of meritorious service to the Iowa Athletics Department and the Varsity Club as an athlete, coach, contributor, leader, and volunteer. His contributions have included serving 13 years as a member of the Board of Directors; major financial contributions; President of the Varsity Club; provided initial engineering sketches for the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame facility project; named Letterman of the Year in 1995; and a named donor of the Bill and Jim Ashton Cross Country Course. He has also been a volunteer Track and Field official since serving as an Iowa Coach in 1963.