Hawkeyes Travel to Kansas

Oct. 31, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
dot.gifspacer.gifDownload Free Acrobat Reader

THIS WEEK — The Iowa men and women’s team will be traveling to Kansas on Friday, November 4th. The women will be competing against Kansas and Missouri State, while the men will only be competing against Missouri State. The meet will be held in the Robinson Natatorium and will start at 4 p.m.

ON KANSAS — The Jayhawks women’s team has faced off against Minnesota (lost 132-168), Truman State (won 127-78) and Missouri (won 175-125). They also competed in the Big 12 Relays, where they placed fourth of six teams.

ON MISSOURI STATE — The Bears opened their seasons at the Missouri Invitational, where the men placed second of seven teams and the women placed second of six teams. The Bears have also dualed against Western Illinois and Delta State. The men won by scores of 138-96 and 119-76 and the women by scores of 143-82 and 117-67, respectively

LAST COMPETITION — The University of Iowa men and women’s swimming and diving teams opened their home seasons October 21st at the Fieldhouse Pool in Iowa City. Both teams fell to the Gophers; the men by 224-66 and the women by 169-131. Both the men and women now hold records of 1-2 (0-2 Big Ten).

Senior diver Nancilea Underwood was first in the one-meter competition with a score of 300.90 and set a new school and pool record in the three-meter competition with a score of 365.78. Senior Kelly Werner took top honors in the 100 yard backstroke (56.80), 200 yard backstroke (2:02.66) and 100 yard butterfly (57.52). Junior Emmy Haeger captured two first place finishes in the 100 yard breaststroke (1:05.20) and the 200 yard breaststroke (2:21.24). Senior Andrea Hemphill also placed first in the 200 yard butterfly with a 2:07.62.

Freshman Nick Divan took top honors in the 1000 yard free (9:30.62) and third in the 500 yard free (4:38.10). Sophomore Dragos Agache brought home two second place finishes, the 100 yard breaststroke (57.75) and the 200 yard breaststroke (2:07.28). Senior Trevor Haley and freshman James Dragon placed second in the 200 yard individual medley with a 1:57.36 and the 100 yard butterfly with 52.05, respectively.

HONORS — Senior diver Nancilea Underwood has been named Big Ten Women’s Diver of The Week twice this season. She earned the honor following the Hawkeyes’ dual with Wisconsin and again following the dual with Minnesota. At Wisconsin, Underwood recorded a one-meter score of 307.35 and a three-meter score of 261.23. Competing against Minnesota, she had a one-meter score of 300.9 and a three-meter score of 365.78, which established a new school and pool record.

HEAD COACH Marc LongMarc Long is in his second season as head coach for the University of Iowa women’s swimming team and first for the men. He served two seasons as the Iowa women’s assistant coach (2003-04) before taking over for the 2004-05 season. He also served as the Hawkeye men’s assistant coach from 1998-2001.

DIVING COACH Bob RydzeBob Rydze is in his 31st year as diving coach of the men and women’s teams at the University of Iowa. He is the dean of Big Ten swimming and diving coaches. During his tenure with the Hawkeyes, Rydze has coached 29 all-Americans, nine Big Ten and one NCAA Champion.

FIELDHOUSE POOL — Iowa’s Fieldhouse Pool was built in 1927 and was, at the time, the world’s largest indoor swimming pool. In 1979, the pool underwent a $400,000 reovation. Diving platforms were added in 1980. The pool is 150 150 feet long and 60 feet wide, with eight lanes. Diving facilities include a pair of one and three meter springboards, plus five and ten meter platforms.

IOWA SWIMMING HISTORY & TRADITION — Iowa was one of the first schools in the nation to compete on a collegiate level and competed at the first NCAA Championship. From 1937 to 1960, Iowa placed in the NCAA top ten 18 times, crowning nine NCAA and 22 Big Ten Champions.

The Fieldhouse Pool was the birthplace of the butterfly stroke and was first used in Iowa City in a dual against Wisconsin. Iowa hosted the NCAA Championships in 1927. The Iowa men’s team has produced 17 Olympians, 26 NCAA champions, 382 all-Americans and 163 Big Ten champions. Three Hawkeye men’s teams have won Big Ten team title. The women’s team has produced 109 NCAA qualifiers, 37 all-Americans and 16 Big Ten champions.

Print Friendly Version