Iowa Takes Second At Regionals

Nov. 12, 2005

Individual Results
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Team Results
Download Free Acrobat Reader

IOWA CITY — The 20th-ranked University of Iowa men’s cross country team finished second at 2005 NCAA Midwest Regional Championship. No. 26 Oklahoma State won the 10,000 meter race with a team total of 49 points. Iowa had five top 20 finishers and finished with a score of 72 points. Both teams receive an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships.

Minnesota junior Antonio Vega captured the individual championship. Vega finished with a time of 30:52 edging out Iowa State freshman Kiel Uhl by three seconds. “I knew that I could be very competitive coming into the race, last year I finished 11th so I knew I could compete,” Vega said. “During the final stretch I knew I was in a good position coming up the hill and I knew I had it.”

The pack of Hawkeyes were led by Eric MacTaggart (10th, 31:16), Adam Roche (12th, 31:17) and Micah VanDenend (13th, 31:18). Matt Esche (17th, 31:27) and Dan Haut (20th, 31:31) contributed to the strong team performance. All were named to the All-Regional Team for finishing in the top 25. Jeff Kent (26th, 31:52) and Andy Napier (28th, 31:56) also competed for Iowa. Head Coach Larry Wieczorek was very pleased with the Hawkeyes performance but feels there is always room for improvement. “I think being at home and being jacked up we may have been a little emotional and went out a little harder than we should,” Wieczorek said.

The NCAA Championships will be held November 21 in Terre Haute, IN. Eighteen teams have already automatically qualified and 13 teams will be selected for at-large bids Sunday.

Team Results (Top 10) Points1.  Oklahoma State  492.  IOWA        723.  Kansas      744.  Minnesota   775.  Loyola Chicago  1826.  Missouri    1927.  Illinois    1988.  Iowa State  2469.  Drake       30010. Ill-Chicago     306
Individual Results (Top Three + Iowa)1. Antonio Vega (Minnesota)30:522. Kiel Uhl (Iowa State) 30:553. Matt Noonan (Missouri) 30:5810. Eric MacTaggart=""http:"="">Adam Roche=""http:"="">Micah VanDenend=""http:"="">Matt Esche=""http:"="">Dan Haut=""http:"="">Jeff Kent=""http:"="">Andy Napier=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>=""http:>