Iowa Comes Home With Gold

Jan. 21, 2006

MINNEAPOLIS, MN — The Hawkeyes competed today in the Jack Johnson Classic at the University of Minnesota. Manitoba, Marquette, Minnesota St.-Mankato, North Dakota State, South Dakota State and Wyoming also competed in the co-ed track meet.

Two Hawkeyes won gold in their respective events. Shane Maier won the shot put with a throw of 58-11.25 which is also good enough to qualify him for the NCAA Indoor Championships; it was also a collegiate best. Jake Berns won the mile with a personal best time of 4:10.10.

Along with Maier and Berns, several other athletes set new personal high marks. David Chaplin, John Hickey, Richard Johnson, Kale Katt, Ryan Niver, Dan Peoples, Jeff Raymond, Aaron Reed, Jay Renaud, Mark Schaapveld, Blake Schlotzhauer, Alex Webster, Brice Wilson and Bobby Windauer all set new bests in their individual events.

The next competition for the Iowa men’s track team is January 28 in the UNI Open in Cedar Falls, IA.

60 Meters1. Ibrahim Kabia (Minnesota) 6.862. Lee Elbert (Iowa) 6.926. David Chaplin (Iowa) 6.967. Max Milder (Iowa) 7.03Prelims David Pierre 7.15 Aaron Reed 7.19 Ryan Niver 7.47
60-Meter Hurdles1. Lyndon McDowell (unattached) 8.328. Brice Wilson (Iowa) 8.61
200 Meters1. Michael Lawrence (Minn. St.-Mankato) 21.7310. David Pierre (Iowa) 22.9022. Brice Wilson (Iowa) 24.34
600 Meters1. Aaron Buzard, Jr, Minnesota 1:17.609. Matt O'Hollearn (Iowa) 1:21.92
800 Meters1. Hans Storvick (Minnesota) 1:53.896. Davis Linden (Iowa) 1:57.097. Daniel Peoples (Iowa) 1:57.1314. Jay Renaud (Iowa) 2:02.2718. Bobby Windauer (Iowa) 2:08.64
Mile1. Jake Berns (Iowa) 4:10.106. Alex Webster (Iowa) 4:16.9016. Blake Schlotzhauer (Iowa) 4:22.30
1,600-Meter Relay1. Minnesota 3:16.112. Iowa `A' 3:18.67
High Jump1. Jim Dilling (Minn St.-Mankato) 7-4.256. Ryan Kelly (Iowa) 6-4.758. Jeremy Petsche (Iowa) 6-2.75
Pole Vault1. Elliot Esch (Minnesota) 15-6.255. Jeff Raymond (Iowa) 15-0.2510. Richard Johnson (Iowa) 14.-6.25
Long Jump1. Josh Robertson (M nn. St.-Mankato) 22-4.254. Aaron Reed (Iowa) 21-7.25Preliminaries Bobby Windauer (Iowa) 19-11.75
Shot Put1. Shane Maier (Iowa) 58-11.254. John Hickey (Iowa) 54-9.255. A.J. Curtis (Iowa) 53-11.757. Mark Schaapveld (Iowa) 50-4.50Preliminaries Ryan Niver (Iowa) 41-1.50
Weight Throw1. Adam Schnaible (Minnesota) 67-6.752. Ryan Jordan (Iowa) 53-10.259. Kale Katt (Iowa) 49-1Preliminaries Mark Schaapveld (Iowa) 48-4.5 John Hickey (Iowa) 40-7.75