Hawkeyes Head To Big Ten Championships

Feb. 13, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

THIS WEEK — The Hawkeye women’s swimming and diving team will compete at the Big Ten Championships Wednesday-Saturday in Columbus, OH. All events will be held at the Bill and Mae McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion on the Ohio State University campus. All-session tickets are $30. Single-session prelim tickets are $5 and single-session finals tickets are $8. Tickets can be purchased from the Ohio State University Athletic Ticket Office at 800/GO-BUCKS.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS — Event prelims begin at 11 a.m. each day, with diving starting at 1 p.m. Both swimming and diving finals begin at 7 p.m; times are EST and local to Ohio State. All swimming events will be in yards and all diving events will be in meters. Following is the schedule of events:

Wednesday, February 15
200 Medley Relay (7 p.m.)
800 Free Relay (7:15 p.m.)

Thursday, February 16
200 Free Relay*
500 Free
200 IM
50 Free
1-Meter Diving

Friday, February 17
400 Medley Relay*
400 IM
100 Fly
200 Free
100 Breast
100 Back
3-Meter Diving

Saturday, February 18
1,650 Free (Timed Final)
200 Back
100 Free
200 Breast
200 Fly
Platform Diving
400 Free Relay*

* — Finals Only

2005 BIG TEN REVIEW — The Hawkeyes placed eighth at the Big Ten Championships, scoring 218 points. Penn State won the team title with 693. Jennifer Skolaski placed fourth in the 100 (54.84) and 200 back (1:57.51). Lissete Planken placed fourth in one-meter diving with 312.40. Nancilea Underwood took fifth in three-meter diving, along with the 200 and 400 medley relay teams.

BIG TEN RANKINGS — Iowa ranks in the top 10 in the Big Ten Conference rankings in two individual events. Senior Kelly Werner ranks sixth in the 100 backstroke with 56.80 and ninth in the 200 backstroke with 2:02.66. The 400 medley relay team is sixth, the 200 medley and 800 freestyle relay teams are both eighth and the 200 and 400 freestyle relay teams are ninth.

BIG TEN HISTORY — In the 24-year history of the Big Ten Women’s Swimming Championships, Iowa has crowned 13 event champions, including nine swimmers, three divers and one relay. The Hawkeyes have yet to win a team title. Michigan has won 14 team titles, Ohio State has won five, Minnesota and Penn State have each won two and Indiana has won one.