Armstrong Sets School Record

May 14, 2006

EAST LANSING, MI – The University of Iowa men and women’s track teams finished fourth and eighth, respectively, at the Big Ten Outdoor Championships in East Lansing, MI, Sunday. It was the highest finish for the Hawkeye men’s squad since they placed second at the meet in 1999. Wisconsin won the men’s team title for the third straight year, while Minnesota women’s squad won its first conference team title in school history.

The women’s team was led by sophomore Meghan Armstrong, and juniors Peaches Roach and Tiffany Johnson. Armstrong placed second in the 1,500 meters with a school-record setting time of 4:17.41, which beat her previous collegiate best by almost nine seconds. The previous school record of 4:19.71 was set in 1989 by Jeanne Kruckeberg. Roach placed second in the high jump (5-8 3/4), fourth in the 200 meters (24.28) and anchored the fourth-place 400-meter relay. Johnson placed second in the 100-meter hurdles (13.62), third in the triple jump (40-5) and ran on the 400 and 1,600-meter relays that placed fourth and seventh, respectively. Senior Shannon Stanley placed sixth in the 1,500 meters (4:25.08) and sophomore Racheal Marchand placed 11th in the 5,000 meters (16:48.07) – both qualifying for the regional meet in those events.

The Hawkeye men had contributors in all events. Freshman David Chaplin placed third in the 100 (10.55) and fourth in the 200 meters (21.14), qualifying for the NCAA Midwest Regional in the 200 meters. The 400-meter relay of sophomore Max Milder, Chaplin and juniors David Pierre and Lee Elbert also placed third (40.65), qualifying for the regional meet. The Hawkeye distance corps recorded three top-10 finishes in the 5,000 meters, while the throwers placed four in the top 10 in the shot put. Junior Micah VanDenend placed fourth (14:13.13), sophomore Eric MacTaggart placed eighth (14:20.04) and senior Matt Esche placed 10th (14:26.04) in the 5,000 meters. In the shot put, sophomore Shane Maier placed second (62-2 1/4), freshman John Hickey placed third (57-3 1/4), sophomore Mark Schaapveld placed sixth (56-8 3/4) and freshman A.J. Curtis placed ninth (54-1 3/4). Sophomore Kale Katt also placed fourth in the javelin with a season-best 201-7.

Iowa’s next competition will be at the NCAA Midwest Regional, May 26-27, in Austin, TX.

Women's Final Team Standings1.  Minnesota   152.502.  Michigan    134.663.  Penn State  1154.  Illinois    104.665.  Ohio State  666.  Purdue  53.337.  Indiana 528.   Iowa    49.339.  Wisconsin   48.5010. Michigan State  41
Men's Final Team Standings1. Wisconsin 161.502. Minnesota 121.503. Indiana 1054. Iowa 775. Illinois 695. Michigan 697. Penn State 618. Ohio State 599. Michigan State 4910. Purdue 45
Women's Day Three Individual Results (Event Winner Plus Iowa Placers)400-Meter Relay1. Penn State 45.184. Iowa 45.90(Johnson, Alexander, Granger, Roach)
1,600-Meter Relay1. Penn State 3:36.957. Iowa 3:46.59(McCalla, Johnson, Alexander, Granger)
1,500 Meters1. Nicole Edwards (Michigan) 4:16.832. Meghan Armstrong (Iowa) 4:17.416. Shannon Stanley (Iowa) 4:25.08
100-Meter Hurdles1. Tiffany Ofili (Michigan) 13.372. Tiffany Johnson (Iowa) 13.62
200 Meters1. Shana Cox (Penn St.) 23.414. Peaches Roach (Iowa) 24.28
5,000 Meters1. Rebecca Walter (Michigan) 16:05.1811. Racheal Marchand (Iowa) 16:48.0717. Meghan Armstrong (Iowa) 16:56.0519. Krista Anderson (Iowa) 17:02.3323. Nikki Chapple (Iowa) 17:11.03
Triple Jump1. Taren James (Michigan St.) 40-6 1/43. Tiffany Johnson (Iowa) 40-516. Renee White (Iowa) 36-9 1/2
High Jump1. Jessie Stringer (Ohio St.) 5-102. Peaches Roach (Iowa) 5-8 3/4
Men's Day Three Individual Results (Event Winner Plus Iowa Placers)400-Meter Relay1. Wisconsin 40.283. Iowa 40.65(Milder, Chaplin, Pierre, Elbert)
1,600-Meter Relay1. Indiana 3:08.216. Iowa 3:11.52(Chaplin, Pierre, Riley, O'Hollearn)
100 Meters1. Demi Omole (Wisconsin) 10.293. David Chaplin (Iowa) 10.55
200 Meters1. David Neville (Indiana) 20.854. David Chaplin (Iowa) 21.14
5,000 Meters1. Stephen Haas (Indiana) 14:00.544. Micah VanDenend (Iowa) 14:13.138. Eric MacTaggart (Iowa) 14:20.0410. Matt Esche (Iowa) 14:26.0422. Blake Schlotzhauer (Iowa) 14:55.76
Shot Put1. Karl Erickson (Minnesota) 64-0 1/42. Shane Maier (Iowa) 62-2 1/43. John Hickey (Iowa) 57-3 3/46. Mark Schaapveld (Iowa) 56-8 3/49. A.J. Curtis (Iowa) 54-1 3/4
Pole Vault1. Brad Gebauer (Michigan St.) 16-10 3/413. Jeff Raymond (Iowa) 15-7
Javelin1. Allen Pettner (Penn St.) 218-64. Kale Katt (Iowa) 201-7