Hawkeyes Head To Big Ten Championships

Feb. 12, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

THIS WEEK — The Hawkeye men’s swimming team will compete at the Big Ten Championships Thursday-Saturday in Columbus, OH. All events will be held at the Bill and Mae McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion on the Ohio State University campus. All-session tickets are $30 for adults and $25 for students. Single-session prelim tickets are $8 for adults and $5 for students. Tickets can be purchased at the Ohio State University Athletic Ticket Office at 800-GO-BUCKS (800-462-8257), or online at www.ohiostatebuckeyes.com.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS — Swimming prelims begin at 11 a.m. each day, with diving prelims at 12:30 p.m. Both swimming and diving finals begin at 6 p.m. each day. All times are CST. All swimming events will be measured in yards and all diving events in meters. The schedule of events:

Thursday, Feb. 15
500 Free
200 IM
50 Free
1-Meter Diving
200 Free Relay*
400 Medley Relay*

Friday, Feb. 16
400 IM
100 Fly
200 Free
100 Breast
100 Back
3-Meter Diving
200 Medley Relay*
800 Free Relay*

Saturday, Feb. 17
1,650 Free (Timed Final)
200 Back
100 Free
200 Breast
200 Fly
Platform Diving
400 Free Relay*

2006 BIG TEN REVIEW — The Hawkeyes placed ninth with 127 points, while Indiana claimed the title with 760.5 points. Junior Dragos Agache placed fourth in the 100 breast (53.94) and seventh in the 200 breast (2:00.31). The 200 medley relay placed seventh. The 200 free relay, 400 medley relay and 800 free relay teams all placed ninth.

BIG TEN HISTORY — In the 95-year history of the Big Ten Men’s Swimming Championships, Iowa has crowned 100 event champions, which includes 73 swimmers, 19 relays and eight divers. The Hawkeyes have won three team titles (1936, 1981 and 1982). Michigan has won 32 team titles, Indiana 24, Ohio State 12 and Minnesota eight.