Johnson Wins Drake Prelims

April 27, 2007

Photo Gallery


Hawkeye senior Tiffany Johnson won the 100-meter hurdles prelims at the 98th annual Drake Relays in Des Moines, IA, Friday. Johnson, who won that event at the 2006 meet, posted a season-best time of 13.40 in the preliminary race. If she wins the race on Saturday, she would be the first Hawkeye in female school history to win back-to-back Drake titles in the same event.

The Hawkeye men and women’s team also had strong performances from several relays, advancing three to Saturday’s finals. The women’s 1,600-meter relay, which was not identified in the results, posted a regional qualifying and season-best time of 3:39.36 in the prelims to advance to the finals. That time also ranks third on Iowa’s all-time best performers list. The women’s 400-meter relay of Johnson, senior Peaches Roach, junior Megan Clarke and freshman Rhonda-Kaye Trusty also advanced with a season-best 45.72, which is .02 seconds off the regional qualifying mark. The men’s 400-meter relay of junior Max Milder, freshman Paul Chaney, Jr., junior Aaron Reed and junior Lee Elbert also advanced with a time of 40.84. The women’s distance medley relay of junior Meghan Armstrong, junior Kineke Alexander, freshman Sophia Poncé and senior Shannon Stanley placed sixth in 11:25.05, which ranks second in school history. The men’s 1,600-meter relay of senior David Pierre, Elbert, freshman Ray Varner and sophomore Prince Riley placed 12th with a season-best 3:10.31, while the 3,200-meter relay of junior Diane Nukuri, freshman Heather Gilmore and seniors Monica Mims and Jessica Schmidt placed ninth in 9:05.13.

Sophomore A.J. Curtis posted the men’s highest finish in the field events, placing eighth (55-8 1/4) in the shot put. Junior Shane Maier (11th – 54-10) and sophomore Mark Schaapveld (12th – 53-11 3/4) were Iowa’s other shot put placers, while junior Kale Katt placed 10th in the javelin (189-6).

The Hawkeyes are scheduled to compete in 17 events Saturday. Competition is scheduled to start at 8:00 a.m. at Drake Stadium.

FRIDAY WOMEN’S RESULTS (Winner Plus Iowa Placers)
100-Meter Hurdles – Prelims
1. Tiffany Johnson (Iowa) 13.40

400-Meter Relay – Prelims
1. Texas 44.41
7. Iowa 45.72
(Johnson, Roach, Clarke, Trusty)

1,600-Meter Relay – Prelims
1. Louisiana Tech 3:34.44
7. Iowa 3:39.36

3,200-Meter Relay – Finals
1. Minnesota 8:27.42
9. Iowa 9:05.13
(Nukuri, Gilmore, Mims, Schmidt)

Distance Medley Relay – Finals
1. Minnesota 11:08.16
6. Iowa 11:25.05
(Armstrong, Alexander, Poncé, Stanley)

FRIDAY MEN’S RESULTS (Winner Plus Iowa Placers)
400-Meter Relay – Prelims
1. Baylor 39.71
7. Iowa 40.84
(Milder, Chaney, Jr., Reed, Elbert)

1,600-Meter Relay – Prelims
1. Baylor 3:05.95
12. Iowa 3:10.31
(Pierre, Elbert, Varner, Riley)

Shot Put – Finals
1. Nick Gretz (Wis.-Milwaukee) 60-7 3/4
8. A.J. Curtis (Iowa) 55-8 1/4
11. Shane Maier (Iowa) 54-10
12. Mark Schaapveld (Iowa) 53-11 3/4

Javelin – Finals
1. Andy Vogelsberg (Emporia St.) 229-8
10. Kale Katt (Iowa) 189-6

Click HERE for more information about the Big Ten Network.