Napier And Niver Both Qualify For NCAA Regional Meet; Curtis Earns Runner-up

May 12, 2007

UNIVERSITY PARK, PA – The University of Iowa men’s and women’s track teams performed outstanding today during the second day of competition at the Big Ten Championships. The Hawkeyes combined to finish with the fastest time in two different preliminary events (men’s 800 meter, women’s 400 meter). They also managed to qualify five events to the NCAA Regional Championships for the first time this season. The events include the men’s 800 meters, 3,000-meter steeplechase and decathlon, the women’s 400 meters and the heptathlon.

Junior Ryan Niver placed eighth in the decathlon with a career-best point total of 6,591. His point total will qualify him for the NCAA Championships. Niver’s highest finish came in the discus throw where he placed second with a toss of 133-10. Sophomore Andy Napier placed fifth in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a personal best and regional qualifying time of 9:06.65, surpassing his previous best by nearly 12 seconds. Sophomore A.J. Curtis was runner-up in the discus with a toss of 172-1.

Freshman Adam Hairston had the fastest time in the 800 meter preliminary heats with a personal best and NCAA regional qualifying time of 1:49.99. Sophomore Prince Riley qualified for the finals in the 400 meters with a career-best time of 47.23. Senior David Pierre just missed qualifying for the finals by .06 of a second. Freshman Paul Chaney, Jr. and junior Lee Elbert both qualified for the finals in the 100 meter dash. Chaney, Jr. qualified with the sixth best time (10.89) and Elbert with the ninth (10.99). Chaney, Jr. also qualified for the finals in the 200 meters with a time of 21.62. Freshman Ray Varner qualified for the finals in the 400 meter hurdles with the fifth fastest time of 51.91.

Senior Tammilee Kerr qualified for the NCAA regional meet by placing fourth in the heptathlon with a school record 5,332 points. This record was previously held by Kathy Gillespie and was set in 1983. Kerr’s best finish came in the javelin throw with a winning throw of 157-0, bettering her personal best by over 15 feet.

Junior Kineke Alexander qualified for the NCAA regional meet in the 400 meters with the fastest time in the preliminary heats (52.23). This marks the first time during the 2007 outdoor season Alexander has ran the 400 meters.

Junior Meghan Armstrong qualified for the 1,500 meter finals with a season-best time of 4:21.85, the fourth fastest in the preliminary heats. Freshman Sophia Poncè qualified for the 800 meter finals with a personal best 2:10.35. Senior Peaches Roach qualified for the finals in the 100 meter dash with the fifth fastest time (12.04). Senior Tiffany Johnson is on her way to the finals in the 100-meter hurdles by posting the fourth best time (13.88).

The Hawkeyes will continue competition at the Big Ten Championships tomorrow at 10:40 a.m. (ET).

Men's Team Standings1. Wisconsin 652. Minnesota 463. Penn State 394. IOWA 31.55. Purdue 306. Indiana 217. Illinois 20.58. Ohio State 159. Michigan 5

Women's Team Standings1. Minnesota 622. Purdue 433. Michigan 374. Penn State 365. Indiana 316. Michigan State 247. Illinois 238. IOWA 229. Wisconsin 2110. Ohio State 13

SATURDAY'S INDIVIDUAL EVENT RESULTS (WINNER PLUS IOWA PLACERS)Decathlon Standings1. Joe Detmer (Wisconsin) 7,278 points8. Ryan Niver (Iowa) 6,591 points

Decathlon 100 Meters Hurdles1. Peter Dykstra (Wisconsin) 14.9112. Ryan Niver (Iowa) 16.54

Decathlon Discus Throw1. Nathan Brown (Wisconsin) 137-42. Ryan Niver (Iowa) 133-10

Decathlon Javelin Throw1. Nathan Brown (Wisconsin) 188-05. Ryan Niver (Iowa) 161-7

Decathlon Pole Vault1. Andrew Zollner (Illinois) 16-6 ¾3. Ryan Niver (Iowa) 13-11 1/4

Decathlon 1,500 Meter Run1. Joe Detmer (Wisconsin) 4:34.3713. Ryan Niver (Iowa) 5:31.99

Heptathlon Standings1. Bettie Wade (Michigan) 5,722 points4. Tammilee Kerr (Iowa) 5,332 points

Heptathlon Long Jump1. Bettie Wade (Michigan) 19-9 1/25. Tammilee Kerr (Iowa) 18-2 1/4

Heptathlon Javelin Throw1. Tammilee Kerr (Iowa) 157-0
Heptathlon 800 Meters1. Gayle Hunter (Penn State) 2:19.066. Tammilee Kerr (Iowa) 2:27.66

Men's Long Jump1. Kiwan Lawson (Indiana) 25-6 ¾11. Aaron Reed (Iowa) 22-8

Men's High Jump1. Ryan Fritz (Penn State) 7-1 3/48. Trey Stross (Iowa) 6-7 ½13. Ryan Kelly (Iowa) 6-614. Dan Rolling (Iowa) 6-615. Jeremy Petsche (Iowa) 6-4 1/2
Men's Discus1. Jon Pullum (Purdue) 177-82. A.J. Curtis (Iowa) 172-121. Shane Maier (Iowa) 137-322. Clint Huntrods (Iowa) 134-8

Women's Javelin Throw1. Lindsey Blaine (Purdue) 170-08. Tammilee Kerr (Iowa) 139-5

Women's 1,500 Meters (Preliminary)1. Emily Brown (Minnesota) 4:21.72 Q4. Meghan Armstrong (Iowa)4:21.85 Q24. Shannon Stanley (Iowa) 4:40.3629. Jordan Laney (Iowa) 4:47.6330. Jessica Schmidt (Iowa) 4:49.38

Women's 400 Meters (Preliminary)1. Kineke Alexander (Iowa) 52.23 Q17. Monica Mims (Iowa) 58.02

Men's 400 Meters (Preliminary)1. Lesiba Masheto (Illinois) 46.51 Q5. Prince Riley (Iowa) 47.23 Q11. David Pierre (Iowa) 47.84

Women's 100 Meters (Preliminary)1. Yvonne Mensah (Illinois) 11.92 Q5. Peaches Roach (Iowa) 12.04 Q14. Megan Clarke (Iowa) 12.63

Men's 100 Meters (Preliminary)1. Demi Omole (Wisconsin) 10.62 Q6. Paul Chaney, Jr. (Iowa) 10.89 Q9. Lee Elbert (Iowa) 10.99 Q14. Max Milder (Iowa) 11.17

Women's 100 Meter Hurdles (Preliminary)1. Tiffany Ofili (Michigan) 13.34 Q4. Tiffany Johnson (Iowa) 13.88 Q

Women's 800 Meters (Preliminary)1. Heather Dorniden (Minnesota) 2:06.29 Q9. Sophia Poncè (Iowa) 2:10.35 Q

Men's 800 Meters (Preliminary)1. Adam Hairston (Iowa) 1:49.99 Q21. Daniel Peoples (Iowa) 1:54.1526. Cannon Dolan (Iowa) 1:56.5427. Zach Splan (Iowa) 1:57.06

Women's 200 Meters (Preliminary)1. Tiara Armstrong (Illinois) 23.98 Q16. Megan Clarke (Iowa) 25.5220. Kara-Aretha Graham (Iowa) 26.35

Men's 200 Meters (Preliminary)1. Jh'Rome Tuggle (Purdue) 20.94 Q8. Paul Chaney, Jr. (Iowa) 21.62 Q16. Lee Elbert (Iowa) 21.9918. Max Milder (Iowa) 22.28

Women's 400 Meter Hurdles (Preliminary)1. Camile Robinson (Illinois) 58.49 Q11. Aditya Jones (Iowa) 1:01.65

Men's 400 Meter Hurdles (Preliminary)1. Adrian Walker (Illinois) 50.70 Q4. Ray Varner (Iowa) 51.91 Q

Men's 3,000 Meter Steeple Chase1. Brandon Bethke (Wisconsin) 8:57.69
5. Andrew Napier (Iowa) 9:06.65




Click HERE to learn more about the Big Ten Network.