Hamilton Qualifies For The NCAA Championships; 13 Hawkeyes All-Region

May 25, 2007

Des Moines, IA –

The University of Iowa men’s and women’s track team competed in the Midwest Regional today at Drake Stadium in Des Moines. The men’s team qualified senior Adam Hamilton for the NCAA Championships in the hammer throw. They also had six other student-athletes earn all-region honors. The women’s team had six student-athletes earn all-region.

All-region honors are earned if the student-athlete places in the top eight of his/her event. Only eight advance to the finals from all preliminary events, with the top five place winners automatically advancing to the NCAA Championships.

Hamilton was runner-up in the hammer throw with a toss of 215-7. Senior Micah VanDenend placed eighth in the 5,000 meters earning all-region status. Four additional student-athletes earned all-region honors in the 400-meter relay. Juniors Max Milder, Aaron Reed, Lee Elbert and freshman Paul Chaney, Jr. combined to run a season best time of 40.54, advancing them to the finals. Freshman Ray Varner advanced to the finals to secure his all-region status in the 400-meter hurdles with an eighth place time of 51.84.

Senior Peaches Roach earned all-region status by placing seventh in the high jump with a leap of 5-9 ¼. Junior Racheal Marchand also earned all-region status by placing sixth in the 5,000 meter with a career-best time of 16:27.72, missing an automatic qualification by .45 of a second. Juniors Meghan Armstrong and Diane Nukuri each qualified for the finals in the 1,500 meters. Armstrong finished with the fourth fastest time (4:23.02), while Nukuri was right behind with the sixth fastest (4:23.27). Junior Kineke Alexander finished with the second fastest time in the 400-meters earning all-region honors.

The 100-meter hurdles were a bit unordinary. Tiffany Johnson blew away the field to take first place in her preliminary heat, but due to a clock malfunction Johnson was given a spot in the finals even without a time. According to the rules, the winner of the heat advances to the finals regardless of time. However, the other competitors were forced to run a second race.

The Hawkeyes will resume competition tomorrow at the Midwest Regional Track and Field Championships at Drake Stadium in Des Moines. The field events will begin at 1 p.m., with the running events slated to start at 3 p.m.

WOMEN'S RESULTSJavelin1.  Erma Gene Evans (Texas-El Paso)  177-711. Tammilee Kerr (I)    151-4
High Jump1. Destinee Hooker (Texas) 6-47. Peaches Roach (I) 5-9 1/4
1,500 Meters1. Mable Kunihira (Oral Roberts) 4:22.014. Meghan Armstrong (I) 4:23.026. Diane Nukuri (I) 4:23.27
100 Meters1. Tiffany Johnson (I) No time
400 Meters1. Deborah Jones (TCU) 52.862. Kineke Alexander (I) 52.88
5,000 Meters1. Sally Kipyego (Texas Tech) 16:01.646. Racheal Marchand (I) 16:27.72

MEN'S RESULTSHammer Throw1. Egor Agafonov (Kansas) 223-02. Adam Hamilton (I) 215-718. Ryan Jordan (I) 178-6
Discus1. Derek Randall (Texas) 197-113. A.J. Curtis (I) 172-2
400-Meter Relay1. Texas-Arlington 39.857. Iowa 40.54(Milder, Chaney, Jr., Reed, Elbert)

400 Meters1. LeJerald Betters (Baylor) 46.0117. Prince Riley (I) 47.52
800 Meters1. Elias Koech (Texas-El Paso) 1:47.8815. Adam Hairston (I) 1:52.12
400-Meter Hurdles1. Bryan Scott (Texas Tech) 50.118. Ray Varner (I) 51.84
5,000 Meters1. Brent Vaughn (Colorado) 13:57.368. Micah VanDenend (I) 14:14.62="https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/ahref="http:>="https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/ahref="http:>="https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/ahref="http:>="https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/ahref="http:>="https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/ahref="http:>="https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/ahref="http:>="https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/ahref="http:>

Click HERE to learn more about the Big Ten Network.