Hawkeyes Open 2007 Season

Aug. 31, 2007

MACOMB, IL – The University of Iowa men and women’s cross country teams opened the 2007 season Friday evening at the Western Illinois University Early Bird Invitational in Macomb, IL. Hawkeye sophomore Jesse Luciano won the men’s race in 25:26, while Western Illinois’ Beth Whalen won the women’s race in 22:49.

The Hawkeye men posted five finishers in the top six and had every runner place in the top 15. Redshirt freshman Tommy Tate placed third (25:51), freshman Mark Battista placed fourth (26:01), sophomore Andy Napier (26:07) placed fifth and redshirt freshman Bruce MacTaggart placed sixth (26:10). Iowa’s other placewinners were freshman Sam Bailin (12th-26:44), redshirt freshman Jay Renaud (14th-27:00) and freshman Bob Ingram (15th-27:03).

The Iowa women were led by sophomore transfer Fionna Fallon in 24:26. The Hawkeyes’ other placers were senior Christine Kotarba (16th-25:01), freshman Kathryn Guess (17th-25:02), freshman Caitlin Wooldridge (23rd-25:50) and sophomore Brittany Graham (26th-26:08).

Iowa’s next meet will be the Hawkeye Invitational Saturday, September 15 in Iowa City. The women will run a 3,000-meter race at 8:30 a.m. and the men will run a 6,000-meter race at 9:00 a.m. All races will be held on the University of Iowa’s Ashton Cross Country Course.

MEN’S RESULTS (Top 10 Plus Iowa Placers)
1 Jesse Luciano (Iowa) 25:26
2. Brad Wheeler (IUPUI) 25:43
3. Tommy Tate (Iowa) 25:51
4. Mark Battista (Iowa) 26:01
5. Andy Napier ( Iowa) 26:07
6. Bruce MacTaggart (Iowa) 26:10
7. Hunter Paris (IPFW) 26:15
8. Eric Anerino (W. Illinois) 26:21
9. Brendan Camplin (Iowa) 26:25
10. Aaron Kremer (IUPUI) 26:34
12. Sam Bailin (Iowa) 26:44
14. Jay Renaud (Iowa) 27:00
15. Bob Ingram (Iowa) 27:03

WOMEN’S RESULTS (Top 10 Plus Iowa Placers)
1. Beth Whalen (W. Illinois) 22:49
2. Caitlin Berry (South Dakota St.) 23:03
3. Crystina Martinez (IPFW) 23:10
4. Crystal Martinez (IPFW) 23:40
5. Susan Odipo (IPFW) 23:48
6. Chandel Ray (W. Illinois) 23:53
7. Valerie Hardesty (IPFW) 24:11
8. Jennie Jamicich ( IUPUI) 24:17
9. Fionna Fallon (Iowa) 24:26
10. Brooke Ashcraft (W. Illinois) 24:33
16. Christine Kotarba (Iowa) 25:01
17. Kathryn Guess (Iowa) 25:02
23. Caitlin Wooldridge (Iowa) 25:50
26. Brittany Graham (Iowa) 26:08

Click HERE to learn more about the Big Ten Network.