Nukuri Wins Second Midwest Regional Title

Nov. 10, 2007

PEORIA, IL–Senior Diane Nukuri became the Midwest Region Champion for the second year in a row, beating the next runner by nearly 30 seconds and tying the school record with a time of 19:37. Nukuri was the Midwest Regional Champion in 2006 with a time of 20:34; she is the only Hawkeye to win two Regional titles. This is her fourth individual title this season.

Nukuri led the Hawkeyes to a third place finish and a Cy-Hawk challenge victory. Iowa beat Iowa State placing third with 111 points while the Cyclones placed seventh with 208 points. Iowa State is currently winning the fourth annual series, but Iowa’s victory gave the Hawkeyes two points. The tally is now 10-3. Senior Meghan Armstrong (5th, 20:07), sophomore Jolly Burke (19th, 20:57), senior Jessica Schmidt (40th, 21:29), freshman Lauren Hardesty (49th, 21:38), sophomore Krista Anderson (62nd, 21:48), freshman Amanda Hardesty (99th, 22:24) also ran for Iowa. Armstrong and Burke received all-Region honors. This is Armstrong’s third all-Region honor and Burke’s first. Two Hawkeyes had personal bests.

Iowa will possibly receive an at-large bid to the NCAA Championships on Monday. The NCAA Championships will take place on Sunday, November 19 in Terre Haute, IN.


1. Minnesota 79 points
2. Illinois 91 points
3. IOWA 111 points
4. Nebraska 130 points
5. Oklahoma State 181 points
6. Tulsa 182 points
7. Iowa State 208 points
8. Missouri 241 points
9. Oklahoma 260 points
10. Wichita State 296 points


1. Diane Nukuri (IOWA) 19:37
2. Angela Bizzarri (Illinois) 20:03
3. Alex Becker (Tulsa) 20:06
4. Lisa Koll (Iowa State) 20:07
5. Meghan Armstrong (IOWA) 20:07

19. Jolly Burke (IOWA) 20:57

40. Jessica Schmidt (IOWA) 21:29

49. Lauren Hardesty (IOWA) 21:38

62. Krista Anderson (IOWA) 21:48

99. Amanda Hardesty (IOWA) 22:24

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.