Hawkeyes Post Four NCAA Qualifiers

Jan. 19, 2008

IOWA CITY, IA — The University of Iowa men and women’s track and field teams opened the 2008 indoor season Saturday by hosting the annual Iowa Open at the Recreation Building in Iowa City. The Hawkeye men won six events, while the women won four. Four Hawkeyes provisionally qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships, and one school and facility record was broken.

Seniors Kineke Alexander, Meghan Armstrong and Diane Nukuri led the Hawkeye women. Armstrong and Nukuri both provisionally qualified for the national meet in the mile. Armstrong won the event (4:46.89) and Nukuri placed second (4:48.48). Alexander broke the 600-meter school and facility record of 1:27.84 she set last season with her winning time of 1:27.45. Junior Renee White and sophomore Rhonda-Kaye Trusty also won events for the Hawkeyes. White placed first in the long jump (19-0 3/4) and Trusty won the 200 meters (25.00).

Junior John Hickey and senior Shane Maier led the men’s team, both provisionally qualifying for the NCAA meet in the shot put. Hickey won the event with a collegiate-best 61-3, while Maier placed second (58-3). Iowa’s other event champions included senior Ryan Jordan (weight throw – 58-3 1/4), junior Matty Gorman (long jump – 23-5 1/2), and sophomores Frank Prill (60-meter hurdles – 8.43), Paul Chaney, Jr. (60 meters – 6.94) and Ray Varner (400 meters – 49.35).

Iowa’s next competition will be Jan. 26 at the Jack Johnson Classic in Minneapolis, MN. All events will be held at the University of Minnesota Fieldhouse.

Complete Iowa Open Results in PDF Format

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.