Big Ten Championships Await Women

Feb. 18, 2008


THIS WEEK — The Hawkeye women’s swimming and diving team will compete at the Big Ten Championships Thursday-Saturday in Columbus, OH. All events will be held in the McCorkle Aquatic Pavillion on the Ohio State University campus. Adults can buy all session passes for $30 or single session tickets for $8. Children under 18, students and senior citizens can buy all session passes for $20 and single session tickets for $6. Tickets can be purchased through the Ohio State University ticket office at 1-800-GOBUCKS (1-800-462-8257). Live meet results can be viewed at, as well as

The men’s team does not compete until the Big Ten Championships in Ann Arbor, MI, Feb. 28-Mar. 1.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS — Event prelims begin at 10 a.m. each day, with diving starting at 12 p.m. Both swimming and diving finals begin at 5:30 p.m; times are CST. All swimming events will be in yards and all diving events will be in meters. Following is the schedule of events:

Thursday, Feb. 21
200 Free Relay*
500 Free
200 IM
50 Free
1-Meter Diving
400 Medley Relay*

Friday, Feb. 22
200 Medley Relay*
400 IM
100 Fly
200 Free
100 Breast
100 Back
3-Meter Diving
800 Free Relay*

Saturday, Feb. 23
1,650 Free*
200 Back
100 Free
200 Breast
200 Fly
Platform Diving
400 Free Relay*

* — finals only

2007 BIG TEN REVIEW — The Hawkeyes placed 10th at the 2007 Big Ten Championships, scoring 108 points in Minneapolis, MN. Indiana won the team title with 715.5. Place winners for the Hawkeyes included Christine Kuczek with a 12th place finish in the 100 freestyle and a 16th place finish in the 50 freestyle. Margie Chamberlin took 15th in the 100 and 200 butterfly.

BIG TEN HISTORY — In the 26-year history of the Big Ten Women’s Swimming Championships, Iowa has crowned 13 event champions, including nine swimmers, three divers and one relay. The Hawkeyes have yet to win a team title. Michigan has won 14 team titles, Ohio State has won five, Penn State three, Minnesota and Indiana two.

Complete Release in PDF Format

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.