Iowa Finishes In Ninth At Big Ten's


Feb. 23, 2008

Complete Results

COLUMBUS, OH – The University of Iowa women’s swimming and diving team was in Columbus, OH, for the final day of the 2008 Big Ten Swimming Championships. After the evening finals, the Hawkeyes finished in ninth place with 139.5 points; Minnesota won their third Big Ten swimming championship with 660.5 points.

School records were set by sophomore Christine Kuczek in her 11th place 100 freestyle finish (50.55) and by the 400 freestyle relay team of Kuczek, Julie deBruin, Katarina Tour, and Alison Gschwend (3:22.52), both times meet NCAA provisional qualifying standards. Junior Ashley Dell turned in an NCAA provisional qualifying time of 16:45.19 in the 1650 freestyle, which was good enough for a twelfth place finish. All of these marks, along with Julie Feingold’s 200 breaststroke (2:20.43), are season bests for the Hawkeyes.

“[Ashley] Dell, along with others, had some huge time drops and it is amazing to see those school records fall,” said Head Coach Marc Long. “It really was a fun event with some great swimming; breaking the 400 free relay record in the last event of the night really made it a special day.”

Overall, the 18 swimming events provided Iowa with 16 season best times, the first seven NCAA provisional qualifying times of the year, twenty Iowa top ten all-time marks, and three school records (100 freestyle, 200 and 400 freestyle relays).

Freshman Katarina Tour led the Hawkeyes with 36.5 points after her sixth place finish in the 100 breaststroke and legs in the 200 and 400 medley and 200 and 400 freestyle relays.

“It was a great night and a great weekend overall,” said Long. “It’s good to see us moving up in the standings and it makes the future look even brighter.”

1. Minnesota 660.5
2. Michigan 609
3. Indiana 513
4. Penn State 472
5. Northwestern 398
6. Wisconsin 377
7. Purdue 284
8. Ohio State 218
9. IOWA 139.5
10. Michigan State 102
11. Illinois 84

1650 Freestyle
1. Emily Brunemann (Mich) 15:51.29*A
12. Ashley Dell (IOWA) 16:45.19*B

200 Backstroke
1. Kate Zubkova 1:53.62*A

100 Freestyle
1. Andrea Hupman (NU) 48.65*A
11. Christine Kuczek (IOWA) 50.55*B

200 Breaststroke
1. Jillian Tyler (Minn) 2:10.18*A
22. Julie Feingold (IOWA) 2:20.43

200 Butterfly
1. Melissa Jaeger (Mich) 1:56.25*A
21. Kathryn Michelau (IOWA) 2:04.06

Platform Diving
1. Kara Cook (Pur) 289.00

400 Freestyle Relay
1. Michigan 3:17.47*A
(Kelly, Smith, Jaeger, Mueller)
7. IOWA 3:22.52*B
(Kuczek, deBruin, Tour, Gcshwend)

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.