Hairston Breaks School Record

March 8, 2008

AMES, IA — Hawkeye sophomore middle distance runner Adam Hairston broke the school 800-meter record he set earlier this season at the Last Chance Qualifier in Ames, IA, Saturday afternoon. The Cedar Rapids, IA, native ran a collegiate-best 1:49.63 to place eighth and improve his NCAA provisionally qualifying mark. He set the previous school record of 1:49.86 last month at the Meyo Invite.

Hairston was one of 11 Hawkeyes to post collegiate bests at the meet. Sophomores Ray Varner (47.66) and Zach Splan (49.14) and freshmen Chris Barton (48.16), Steve Willey (48.21), Connor Elmitt (49.58) and Matt Rammelsberg (50.47) all ran collegiate bests in the 400 meters. Senior Max Milder ran a collegiate-best 21.74 in the 200 meters, while junior Cannon Dolan ran a collegiate-best 1:53.95 in the 800 meters. Redshirt freshman Bruce MacTaggart ran collegiate bests in the mile (4:21.74) and 3,000 meters (8:37.39). Iowa also had a 1,600-meter relay run a season-best 3:10.74. Iowa’s top placewinners were senior Shane Maier in the shot put (3rd/58-1 3/4) and sophomore Dan Rolling in the high jump (3rd/6-6),

Hawkeyes who meet qualifying standards will compete at the 2008 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships March 14-15 in Fayetteville, AR. The final entry lists will be determined Monday night. All events at the co-ed meet will be held at the Randal Tyson Track Center on the University of Arkansas campus. Iowa will open the 2008 outdoor season March 21-22 at either the LSU Relays in Baton Rouge, LA, or the Willie Williams Classic in Tucson, AZ.

200 Meters
1. Charles Clark (Florida St.) 20.83
11. Paul Chaney, Jr. (Iowa) 21.65
12. Max Milder (Iowa) 21.74

400 Meters
1. Allodin Fothergill (Mrlnd-E. Shore) 46.36
15. Ray Varner (Iowa) 47.66
19. Chris Barton (Iowa) 48.16
22. Steven Willey (Iowa) 48.21
31. Zach Splan (Iowa) 49.14
32. Connor Elmitt (Iowa) 49.58
34. Brandon McSkimming (Iowa) 49.90
35. Matt Rammelsberg (Iowa) 50.47

800 Meters
1. Rueben Twijukye (LSU) 1:48.29
8. Adam Hairston (Iowa) 1:49.63
27. Cannon Dolan (Iowa) 1:53.95

1. Neville Miller (NYAC) 4:05.80
12. Bruce MacTaggart (Iowa) 4:21.74
13. Heath Moenck (Iowa) 4:22.01

3,000 Meters
1. Jesse Luciano (Unattached) 8:26.19
4. Bruce MacTaggart (Iowa) 8:37.39

1,600-Meter Relay
1. Texas A&M 3:06.68
10. Iowa “A” 3:10.74
15. Iowa “B” 3:18.46

High Jump
1. C.J. Greene (Oral Roberts) 6-8
3. Dan Rolling (Iowa) 6-6

Shot Put
1. Nate Englin (Missouri) 59-10 1/4
3. Shane Maier (Iowa) 58-1 3/4
6. A.J. Curtis (Iowa) 55-8 1/2

Complete Results in PDF Format

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.